We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Franco(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
Rio Vista Hotel(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel El Fuerte(El Fuerte)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Posada Don Jose(El Fuerte)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Herradura(El Fuerte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
18
32
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
32
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarewifibiteinsectstown
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was ok - clean, nicely landscaped and very well located on the square. The restaurant was fantastic. Cool break from the hot weather and excellent quality food with a good menu. Margheritas were especially well made here. Wifi is a bit unstable but good in the restaurant. No English speakers. It would be my preference of hotels in El Fuerte if I were to revisit the place. We booked s river tour through the Rio Vista hotel and had an excellent tour on the swollen river - lots of birdlife, petroglyphs and the English speaking guide was knowledgeable, informative, professional and we felt safe in his care. The vehicle to reach the river was s real treat - see photo!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank chballarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Had a booking, they filled our room with someone else and then refused to open the door to us with our booking. In the end it worked out well, we stayed at the Hidalgo (they gave us a really good rate!) which was lovely - I wouldn't waste your time with these jokers!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank willbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

A lovely setting and beautiful grounds. Nice tile decor and huge bathroom. Mattresses a little more solid than many may be used to but OK. Great dining on fish and vegetables, good Margaritas. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Shortly before arriving in El Fuerte on the Chepe train, we made friends with a couple from Canada – their car was parked at their hotel in El Fuerte, while our rental car was parked at the train station, so we all piled into our rental car (thankfully, untouched!!) and went to the LA CHOZA hotel – there was room for us at the inn, it was lovely – an old hacienda had been razed to the ground and the relatively new hotel built up around the original foundations. We were told that the current hotel owner’s dad had a fondness for the “airplane doctors” and therefore each room in the hotel was named for one of the pilots in this elite group. (740 pesos per night) Beautiful gardens and pools, gorgeous brick ceiling, spacious bathroom, super comfortable bed – all nice! We joined our new friends for dinner at the hotel restaurant, called “Diligencia” (stage coach) and shared a delicious entrée of local river black bass with octopus and shrimp and a spicy red sauce. And beer and Margaritas, of course! (200 pesos I think) We want to return to the charming and well-cared-for town of El Fuerte and when we do, we will stay at La Choza.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Been to El Fuerte over two dozen times in the last 6 years. I've stayed in all of nicer hotels in town and now stay exclusively at Hotel la Choza.
Clean rooms. Good heating and air conditioning. Run by a very nice family. Friendly, long time staff. Has one of the best resturants in town.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonanzatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews