We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Getaway”
Review of Tennant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tennant Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Arrived at the tennant late after work on Friday night, we stayed in the Bardondale Room, Lovely Room very very comfy bed only qualm was no yorkshire tea in the room!! (ha ha I am tea mad) had meals on both nights we stayed food average could of done with more choice have had better in different locations in the dales, breakfast was nice but with going on long walks would of liked a few more mushrooms, extra bacon and sausage!! (more than one) overall pleasant stay, friendly staff. little dogs welcome would stay again as feel very relaxed after a quite cosy weekend Perfect. Thank youuuuuu p/s if you walk up the hill at the back of the pub at sun rise the views are stunning

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallaseyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Tennant Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the Tennant Arms - it was our first visit, so we have no opinion about the previous management and can't make a comparison. All we can say is that the four-poster room ('Wharfedale') was very comfortable indeed with a superb bathroom and that it was very quiet in spite of the fact that it is at the front of the hotel and overlooks the road.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful throughout. They were dealing with a large party of walkers over the weekend which meant that service was a bit slow and we had to dine in a pleasant corner of the bar but this was not really a problem as the staff let us know what the delay would be and did their best to keep us happy. The food was good and it was nice to find a chef who knows how to cook vegetables (ie not boiled to death). The only niggle was that the chips could have done with a bit longer in the pan - my wife's medium rare steak was exactly right. The menu isn't particularly adventurous but the quality is good, the price is reasonable and the portions are generous - quite rightly geared to the needs of walkers and fishermen!
Breakfast (cooked to order) was fine.
We were very satisfied with our visit and will very likely return.

Room Tip: The four-poster room is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageurAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Arrived for a quiet night away with my wife, having booked online in advance at a discount. We spent a nice (sunny) Saturday afternoon doing a 5.5 mile stroll starting on the lane at the back of the hotel.
Our hotel room (Litondale?) was nice and spacious and distinctively furnished with a great spa bath surrounded by natural slate tiles (maybe a little difficult to get in if you have mobility difficulties). Our bed was very comfy and the bedding clean. Our room looked out over the front of the hotel so we had a good view. There is a road at the front but it is far from busy (almost as many pedal bikes as cars). Our room, the hotel, and the bar were also clean and the staff friendly.
We ate at the hotel in the evening and the food was very nice, well presented and reasonably priced. As vegetarians we were limited to one choice but we were happy to choose it. Maybe a second vegetarian main option should be offered. We had the breakfast next day and it was nice, fresh, and filling. Breakfast was served in a nice wood pannelled room.
I believe that the Yorkshire TV area may have just had their digital switchover and none of the TVs currently work (I wanted the football results). The staff said they were getting someone out to look at what needed to be done (our room had an old TV that will never work with digital). If this is an issue for you just phone before going as they may well have fixed it by then.
We had virtually no O2 phone reception at the hotel but it wasn't a problem as the hotel kindly let us use their landline to check back with the kids.
Before going we were a little concerned by a small number of the recent reviews concerning the new management. We decided to book anyway and we are glad we did.
Overall a nice stay and we would consider returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we called at the tennants arms for a meal on our way back from dropping our son
off at university in newcastle.
the menu was very limited and the specials well can only be discribed as childlike cheesburgers etc.
the worst thing was the disco from the staff in the kitchen wilth very loud music and the staff
singing along to it.
this is not what you want when you are having a meal.
nice place but think the staff need customer service training.
i would avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I find it hard to add to Hannah D's entirely accurate review, but let me try. This is without doubt the WORST Sunday Lunch I have ever had in the Dales. The food is of modest canteen standard and there is little choice. It all tasted bland and bought in. My wife had roast beef (one and a half slices of wafer thin leather), whilst I had fatty and tastless lamb. No choice of vegetables and undercooked roast potatoes, (as detailed in Hannah D's review). We have both worked in the health service for many years and this stuff is on a par with hospital catering.

All this is made even sadder by the fat that this used to be an excellent place to eat and stay. I will now wait eagerly for the next change of management and hope for the best. Until that time, I will never eat there, and I advise all tripadvisor readers to do the same. A classic example of how English pub food used to be at its worst 30 years ago.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobtherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
4.7 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
9.0 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
134 reviews
8.8 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
989 reviews
17.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennant Arms Hotel

Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range: RM426 - RM682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing