We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tennant Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
US$129
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
187
134
48
32
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
134
48
32
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtennant armsmy partnerevening mealyorkshire dalesgreat foodbar areasunday lunchopen firestaff were very friendlywarm welcomefour posterboth nightspiebreakfast roomsteakfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here with friends early this year. The area was very quiet and quite difficult to find even using satnav. Nice to be in the middle of nowhere though. When we arrived the hotel was having exterior work done so there was scaffolding up all over it, inside was very nice though, log fire and good bar. Our rooms were very nice. Large and spacious. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was quite expensive but well worth it. Breakfast was decent, with good variety of food and full english breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priestessofmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Arrived at the tennant late after work on Friday night, we stayed in the Bardondale Room, Lovely Room very very comfy bed only qualm was no yorkshire tea in the room!! (ha ha I am tea mad) had meals on both nights we stayed food average could of done with more choice have had better in different locations in the dales, breakfast was nice but with going on long walks would of liked a few more mushrooms, extra bacon and sausage!! (more than one) overall pleasant stay, friendly staff. little dogs welcome would stay again as feel very relaxed after a quite cosy weekend Perfect. Thank youuuuuu p/s if you walk up the hill at the back of the pub at sun rise the views are stunning

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallaseyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the Tennant Arms - it was our first visit, so we have no opinion about the previous management and can't make a comparison. All we can say is that the four-poster room ('Wharfedale') was very comfortable indeed with a superb bathroom and that it was very quiet in spite of the fact that it is at the front of the hotel and overlooks the road.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful throughout. They were dealing with a large party of walkers over the weekend which meant that service was a bit slow and we had to dine in a pleasant corner of the bar but this was not really a problem as the staff let us know what the delay would be and did their best to keep us happy. The food was good and it was nice to find a chef who knows how to cook vegetables (ie not boiled to death). The only niggle was that the chips could have done with a bit longer in the pan - my wife's medium rare steak was exactly right. The menu isn't particularly adventurous but the quality is good, the price is reasonable and the portions are generous - quite rightly geared to the needs of walkers and fishermen!
Breakfast (cooked to order) was fine.
We were very satisfied with our visit and will very likely return.

Room Tip: The four-poster room is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageurAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Arrived for a quiet night away with my wife, having booked online in advance at a discount. We spent a nice (sunny) Saturday afternoon doing a 5.5 mile stroll starting on the lane at the back of the hotel.
Our hotel room (Litondale?) was nice and spacious and distinctively furnished with a great spa bath surrounded by natural slate tiles (maybe a little difficult to get in if you have mobility difficulties). Our bed was very comfy and the bedding clean. Our room looked out over the front of the hotel so we had a good view. There is a road at the front but it is far from busy (almost as many pedal bikes as cars). Our room, the hotel, and the bar were also clean and the staff friendly.
We ate at the hotel in the evening and the food was very nice, well presented and reasonably priced. As vegetarians we were limited to one choice but we were happy to choose it. Maybe a second vegetarian main option should be offered. We had the breakfast next day and it was nice, fresh, and filling. Breakfast was served in a nice wood pannelled room.
I believe that the Yorkshire TV area may have just had their digital switchover and none of the TVs currently work (I wanted the football results). The staff said they were getting someone out to look at what needed to be done (our room had an old TV that will never work with digital). If this is an issue for you just phone before going as they may well have fixed it by then.
We had virtually no O2 phone reception at the hotel but it wasn't a problem as the hotel kindly let us use their landline to check back with the kids.
Before going we were a little concerned by a small number of the recent reviews concerning the new management. We decided to book anyway and we are glad we did.
Overall a nice stay and we would consider returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we called at the tennants arms for a meal on our way back from dropping our son
off at university in newcastle.
the menu was very limited and the specials well can only be discribed as childlike cheesburgers etc.
the worst thing was the disco from the staff in the kitchen wilth very loud music and the staff
singing along to it.
this is not what you want when you are having a meal.
nice place but think the staff need customer service training.
i would avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews