We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated”
Review of The Tennants Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tennants Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very good small hotel adjoined to a pub, picturesquely situated in front of a rock outcrop. Extremely comfortable rooms (some with a jacuzzi!) and good wholesome food, which can either be taken in the hotel dining area or in the bar. Ideally situated for visiting the National Park by car, foot, or other means. Footpath to Malham Tarn from behind the hamlet. Hotel and pub are also dog friendly. Given the chance I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLondon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    92
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
56
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My fiance and I had a fantastic stay here. we had hoped to embark on a long walk on the Dales but the wet and windy weather put a stop to that. Instead we took advantage of settling into a lovely old pub where the staff were very welcoming and the food was yummy. The room was lovely - slept like a log and woke to yet another yummy feast for breakfast.
if you are looking for a cosy weekend in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the winter, than this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had a lovely stay here after a day out at an attraction near Leyburn. The room was beautiful, especially the gorgeous bathroom with jacuzzi bath! The surroundings of the hotel itself were stunning and we had a lovely view from our window. We had been told when we booked it through a website that it included breakfast but didn't know until we arrived that the kitchen doesn't open on a monday or tuesday. However we felt this was the fault of the website not the hotel. We were helpfully directed to a pub/restaurant in the next village. This pub directed us to a cafe where we got breakfast the following morning. Overall we had a lovely stay and absolutely adored the room which was called 'littondale'. We would definitely return, the journey to the hotel itself (although a little scary at times through winding narrow country roads) is all part of the fun and appeal of being in the countryside!

Room Tip: The 'Littondale' room we stayed in was beautiful, would have loved to have seen the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here with friends early this year. The area was very quiet and quite difficult to find even using satnav. Nice to be in the middle of nowhere though. When we arrived the hotel was having exterior work done so there was scaffolding up all over it, inside was very nice though, log fire and good bar. Our rooms were very nice. Large and spacious. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was quite expensive but well worth it. Breakfast was decent, with good variety of food and full english breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priestessofmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallasey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Arrived at the tennant late after work on Friday night, we stayed in the Bardondale Room, Lovely Room very very comfy bed only qualm was no yorkshire tea in the room!! (ha ha I am tea mad) had meals on both nights we stayed food average could of done with more choice have had better in different locations in the dales, breakfast was nice but with going on long walks would of liked a few more mushrooms, extra bacon and sausage!! (more than one) overall pleasant stay, friendly staff. little dogs welcome would stay again as feel very relaxed after a quite cosy weekend Perfect. Thank youuuuuu p/s if you walk up the hill at the back of the pub at sun rise the views are stunning

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallaseyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
9.0 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
128 reviews
17.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
22.3 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
17.7 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tennants Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Property: The Tennants Arms
Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price range (per night): RM415 - RM664
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing