We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room it was absolutely freezing with no heating working”
Review of Tennant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tennant Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed in this Pub/hotel about 20 years ago so when planning a trip to the Yorkshire dales I decided to stay again. Big mistake.

When we arrived we decided to settle in front of the open fire in the Bar during this time heard the barman telling customers that they had run out of several things and there was not food available . I spoke the the barman to be told that the place had been sold and new owners are taking over after the weekend.
When we got to our room it was absolutely freezing with no heating working . I reported this to the barman who said the Chef would look at the heating (the only staff on the day was the barman and temp waitress and the chef)
This was not sorted so we left.
The staff had been very friendly no complaints with them
Please check under new management

As it was bank holiday we had difficulty find another hotel and ended up in a £230 room at the Devonshire Arms Bolton abbey

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riachsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Tennant Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I decided on a trip out up the Dales and meandered our way to Kilnsey. Although the weather was somewhat dreary it added to the atmosphere of the crag itself. We called to whet our whistles at the Tennants Arms and it was lovely. We were met by a charming young waitress who showed us to a table by an open fire. The fireplace must have been over two hundred years old and it looked rather grand beneath the beamed ceiling. They have a selection of ales and I saw a stout and a lager also. We had a drink and went for a stroll arond the village, vey nice too. Alas it began to rain so it was back to the Pub/Hotel. I had a hot beef sandwich on a ciabatta with home made chips and salad. Superb! My wife opted for a jacket potato with lashings of local cheese, again with a side salad. The price was very reasonable and next time we go we'll be taking something from the main menu as if what we sampled was anything to go by then we'ed be well pleased. We got chatting to the Landlady who judging by her accent hails from the North East and she kindly showed us around the hotel rooms. One word here, Wow! For the prices they are charging these rooms are top notch, as if the views themselves aren't enough, each room is different ans has it's own quality. You'll have to see them to believe them, one of them has a four poster and another has a jacuzzi. Anyhow, we went out for a an afternoon walk and found a place we'll go to again. I'm glad it was raining, we might have missed the Tennants. Next time we visit we're taking friends and satying overnight. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the side with a view of the Crag, superb!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked this hotel for the location and on recommendation and we were not disappointed.
We were made aware from when we checked in that the tenants were new ( second week )
and that there had been some problems. We were shown to the room which for what we paid was great inc jacuzzi but no shower which we wanted. We were offered a free upgrade to another room which was ideal.
We ate in the pub and the food was excellent thanks to Peter the new chef.
We were impressed with Val the new manager, she was very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was also excellent in terms of the room the service and especially the food.
We will def' return to the Tennant Arms soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superjxband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

It's all new management and ownership at The Tennants so we thought we'd give it a go. We had dinner; 1 steak and ale pie and 1 fish & chips....... The pie was very dry and hard on the edges where the microwave had had its way. The chips with both meals were 'al dente' to say the least. The fish was nice. Presentation of both meals were really nice and the two ladies who were on the bar were really friendly. We were made to feel really welcome.
I'll go back to support these ladies in the months to come and hopefully they will be busy enough for the food to be better. I hope this place under the crag is on the mend, but don't go expecting miracles for now.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalesbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Unfotunately the Tennants used to be one of the best pub/hotel places to stay in the dales I would not recommend anybody to go there at the moment till the present Tenancy holder departs,the place has seriously run down,is cold and unwelcoming there is very limited food available and I would recommend eating elsewhere if you value your health!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
4.7 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
132 reviews
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
814 reviews
9.0 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
135 reviews
8.8 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
991 reviews
17.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennant Arms Hotel

Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range: RM425 - RM680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing