We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay in the dales”
Review of Tennant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tennant Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire dales. Good views of the hills from the rooms. Very comfortable stay, nice room with all supplies. good food and friendly staff. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pato230946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for you great comments , we hope to see you again very soon . Chris and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 334 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for one night stay with family for birthday celebrations. The hotel/pub is in a lovely area surround by fields and directly in front of the crag. The owners were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The food was beautiful all ten of us in our party enjoyed everything we ordered for our evening meal in the restaurant and it was plentyful. Good selection of beers lagers and wines. Lovely comfortable beds nice and clean rooms. All staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fresh and hot with replenishments if tea and coffee if needed. Thanks for making the birthday celebrations a good one guys and we will be back again soon. Pete and Chris keep up the good work, you are doing a good job for so little time you have been in the Tennant's Arms. Thanks again to you both and all your staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just spent a weekend at this beautifully situated establishment in Wharfedale. Now under new management our stay was excellent. The staff could not do enough for our party of ten, with the food being beyond our dreams and at reasonable prices. The use of local produce is always a bonus and linked with quality chefs the outcome was inevitable. It is situated ideally for walkers, cyclists and holiday alike. With easy access to the beauty of many Dales. Would we go again? You bet we are. Even the local people from the Dale are returning to enjoy life under this new management team. Try the fishing at the fish farm, the kids loved it! Many thanks gang. Brian and Christina

Room Tip: Crag View. Looking up to Kilnsey Crag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank hardacre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Just want to say this looks a fabulous hotel and oozes charm and nostalgia. I have visited last week when walking in the area and will be coming to stay when I'm in Kilnsey next time. Good luck to the new owners and I'm sure this is going to be a great success. Your staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and that counts for a lot in my book!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Len O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments , Pete and I are trying so hard to please all our guests in the rooms to bar and restaurant. We believe in top class customer service and will go the extra mile to make you happy. We have only taken this place on 9 weeks ago still a lot to sort out . We have made a lot of progress with the food & ambiance , we want customer to feel they have had great value for money . Look forward to see you both again very soon . Kind regards Chris & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We called into the Tennant Arms for some food on the way back from a day out. We decided to have the take away fish and chips. The cost for eating in was £12.95, I was suprised when it was the same for take away. It was possibly one of the worsed and most expensive take away fish and chips we have ever had. The fish was over cooked and dry, chips were pale and tasteless, mushy peas were over loaded with pepper. We should have realised something was amiss a we were the only ones in the pub except friends of the manager.

Room Tip: Best avoided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your take away food . We have only been doing this service some weeks and had great reviews. I will look in to the day you your food and talk to our kitchen team . Regarding the management talking to friends at the bar , sorry to disappoint you. Myself and Pete do not have time to stand around chatting all day , it was our bar attender you saw. We feel passionate that our customer get value for money , you should have brought them back we would have replaced them . Going forward if your ever passing by again call in we will give you some-more complimentary .
Regards Chris & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
820 reviews
4.7 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
133 reviews
9.0 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,015 reviews
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
141 reviews
25.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennant Arms Hotel

Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilnsey
Price Range: RM418 - RM669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing