We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tennant Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
187
134
47
32
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
134
47
32
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtennant armsmy partnerevening mealyorkshire dalesgreat foodbar areasunday lunchopen firestaff were very friendlywarm welcomefour posterboth nightspiebreakfast roomsteakfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Visited for one night stay with family for birthday celebrations. The hotel/pub is in a lovely area surround by fields and directly in front of the crag. The owners were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The food was beautiful all ten of us in our party enjoyed everything we ordered for our evening meal in the restaurant and it was plentyful. Good selection of beers lagers and wines. Lovely comfortable beds nice and clean rooms. All staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fresh and hot with replenishments if tea and coffee if needed. Thanks for making the birthday celebrations a good one guys and we will be back again soon. Pete and Chris keep up the good work, you are doing a good job for so little time you have been in the Tennant's Arms. Thanks again to you both and all your staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank farmer682018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you all so much for your honest comments , yes we are trying so hard to make this big old coach house work .We have done so much since we arrived 4 months ago . We feel customer service must come out first and our customers enjoy coming to stay with us
we enjoy to cater for big groups and help you celebrate your special occasions .
Hope yo see you all again very soon
Regards
Chris & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Just spent a weekend at this beautifully situated establishment in Wharfedale. Now under new management our stay was excellent. The staff could not do enough for our party of ten, with the food being beyond our dreams and at reasonable prices. The use of local produce is always a bonus and linked with quality chefs the outcome was inevitable. It is situated ideally for walkers, cyclists and holiday alike. With easy access to the beauty of many Dales. Would we go again? You bet we are. Even the local people from the Dale are returning to enjoy life under this new management team. Try the fishing at the fish farm, the kids loved it! Many thanks gang. Brian and Christina

Room Tip: Crag View. Looking up to Kilnsey Crag
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank hardacre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you so much for you fantastic comments , we look highly to people who appreciate all our hard work . Like we say we are new to this place . We are trying so hard to please everyone but some do not see it that way .Your party was amazing , thank you again for your custom. We hope to see you all again very soon . Regards Chris Pete and our team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Just want to say this looks a fabulous hotel and oozes charm and nostalgia. I have visited last week when walking in the area and will be coming to stay when I'm in Kilnsey next time. Good luck to the new owners and I'm sure this is going to be a great success. Your staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and that counts for a lot in my book!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Len O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments , Pete and I are trying so hard to please all our guests in the rooms to bar and restaurant. We believe in top class customer service and will go the extra mile to make you happy. We have only taken this place on 9 weeks ago still a lot to sort out . We have made a lot of progress with the food & ambiance , we want customer to feel they have had great value for money . Look forward to see you both again very soon . Kind regards Chris & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We called into the Tennant Arms for some food on the way back from a day out. We decided to have the take away fish and chips. The cost for eating in was £12.95, I was suprised when it was the same for take away. It was possibly one of the worsed and most expensive take away fish and chips we have ever had. The fish was over cooked and dry, chips were pale and tasteless, mushy peas were over loaded with pepper. We should have realised something was amiss a we were the only ones in the pub except friends of the manager.

Room Tip: Best avoided!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your take away food . We have only been doing this service some weeks and had great reviews. I will look in to the day you your food and talk to our kitchen team . Regarding the management talking to friends at the bar , sorry to disappoint you. Myself and Pete do not have time to stand around chatting all day , it was our bar attender you saw. We feel passionate that our customer get value for money , you should have brought them back we would have replaced them . Going forward if your ever passing by again call in we will give you some-more complimentary .
Regards Chris & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I purchased a voucher deal with living social for 2 nights b&b and called the hotel to book straight away. I wanted a Monday / Tuesday booking, only to be told I could have twin room,( not acceptable) for one night and could pay extra for the following night. As I purchased the voucher at a good rate, I had no intention of paying extra. That's not the point of a deal, which I explained to the guy on the phone. I was given other dates , but again, the option of paying extra for a double room or for one of the nights . The guy was quite abrupt said I can't give any nights at the deal rate or I would be bankrupt! Well surely if that is the case he should have limited the deal to a certain amount of vouchers ourchased on living social. I cannot give ratings as I didn't stay there, but wanted people to know about how restricted the dates available are and the unhelpful attitude of staff. I am now trying to get my money refunded by living social.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank curleylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Director of Sales at Tennant Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

hi.Iwould just like to point out that we have 11 hotel rooms 5 of which we let out to Wowcher/living social these are lovely rooms and are on a first come first served basis .The deal has been live for over three weeks now and unfortionetly most of the best dates have gone for September/October .We then have superior and luxury rooms that are not part of the deal on living social and if you require a certain date and we don't have availability for the standard rooms then yes a supplement would apply for the luxury rooms. We have also been giving big discounts to customers who want to upgrade. We do our best to accommodate all customers with dates that they require . Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews