We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT APARTMENT”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio area, exterior table and 4x chairs supplied, sea view, landscaped gardens. Communal Swimming Pool - Restaurant - Private Beach - Landscaped gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Patio area, exterior table and 4x chairs supplied, sea view, landscaped gardens.
Communal Swimming Pool - Restaurant - Private Beach - Landscaped gardens
Sea view, exterior table and chairs, patio area
Two single beds pulled down in living area
Two single pull down beds, 2 seater sofa, coffee table
Double bed pulled down, can be put up and hidden behind curtains during the day
New washing machine, bathroom cupboards
Main pool - Restaurant - Sea - Kids paddling pool - South facing
Main pool has two swimming area connected via this canal - Restuarant for lunch and dinner
Private south facing beach, kids toys supplied in apartment
Gym for members only - We supply 2 x membership cards for leisure centre
Indoor Swimming pool - Jacuzzi - Sauna - 2 cards supplied for these facilites
Tennis courts, you can hire rackets there or bring your own
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nijo61
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT APARTMENT”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived back from Marianne F Donalola Calahonda. The weather wasn't too kind for us (so not too much sunbathing) but being familiar with the area it was a great excuse to socialise in the bars and restaurants close by, (Dempseys, OurBar, Mario's at Camping Cabopino and the Almond Tree to name but a few - all great places), catching up with our expat friends.
The apartment is in an excellent location and is great value for money. It's not far off 'front line beach' with a sea view and only 2 minutes walk to beach, pool, bar and restaurant. The apartment was immaculate and whilst small was absolutely perfect for our needs. There were only two of us but it would accommodate a family comfortably.
The owners, Martin and Maxine, were in touch immediately I made an enquiry and the whole deal was completed quickly and with little effort. An added bonus this time of year is the option to use the leisure centre (free of charge) so we made full use of the heated indoor pool and jacuzzi. If you are considering a holiday in this area then this apartment is an excellent choice. We will definitely be back :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceejayblu...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had already spent a week at Mijas in a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment so knew that going to a studio apartment would be different. However, it does what it says on the tin and was just right for our stay in Calahonda. Although it would've made more room during the day we left the bed down as we were out most of the time anyway. Everything was spotless and when we had a query about beach towels, the owner (Martin) immediately arranged for his lady on site (a lovely lady called Judy) to come round, she was there in minutes and we sorted it all out and we settled down for our stay.

There is a washing machine in the bathroom, which we didn't use during our stay but it was obviously a new one. The kitchen area is small with a fridge with an ice box, a halogen hob and a small microwave and a grill for use if we needed. We were told to help our selves to anything in the cupboard if there was something we needed.

The TV didn't have many English channels but we got by with Sky and the odd Discovery Max documentary but we were out and about all day and most of the evenings visiting the local bars.

The apartment is in a quiet part of the Dona Lola area and is not part of the Macdonalds Resorts Leisure group, although there were cards available so that we could use their facilities. The whole week we were there flew by and we have had a great time. Our only problem was cockroaches which seemed to be a problem on the main resort to, however the owner has provided spray and special electric repellents which did help, this is not, however, a criticism of the apartment or the owner. In hot countries cockroaches are a fact of life and part of the local wildlife lol!

I would say, though that although its in the ground floor and good for access by wheelchair users when the bed is in the up position, it isn't really suitable for anyone severely disabled, the bath is not really disabled friendly. However, as a fairly fit 60+ couple it was fine for us.

We are glad that we decided to stay in Marianne F at Dona Lola, a nice little studio apartment, which I know the owner is in the process of making more improvements to and we would certainly be happy to stay there again. Thank you to Martin and Maxine for their great communications, before, during and after our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view, quiet part of the resort, contact with owner was excellent.
Liked least: Cockroaches but that's just part of living in a hot country.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarkyB170...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely apartment in a superb location. Ideally positioned on the Dona Lola complex, close to Pools, Restuarants and Bars plus the on-site mini-marts. Made a great base for days at the beach at nearby Cabopino. Buses stop right outside and are a fun way to travel, or walk the new boardwalk and enjoy a drink and a meal at the beach bars along the way. The owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating and made what was a last minute decision to go away extremely simple and efficient. Martin/Maxine will also arrange for your pick ups to and from the Airport which saves a lot of hassle, particularly when you arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the complex, and accessibility to bars and restuarants and leisure facilities
Liked least: Nothing really to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“fab getaway for a couple or small family”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely week, perfect apartment that catered for all our needs, lovely and clean, quiet and relaxing, excellently located close to beach and pools, close to restaurants, and the spa was very nice, and close to bus routes, very friendly owners who were very helpful to all our questions. would love to go back someday, would highly recommend to anyone to go if you require a relaxing break not to far from home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing