We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Beach Wedding at the Medusa”
Review of Medusa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medusa Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We organized our beach wedding in the Medusa Resort in August 2017 and it was perfect : the place is wonderful, the food was delicious and the organization (NaxosEye Weddings) was incredibly professional and so friendly. A lot of our wedding guests stayed some nights in the hotel and they loved it : clean room, beautiful beach, swimming pool and garden, nice bar, good and copious breakfast, great staff. Mariangela and George are so welcoming and professionals : always there to help us with anything (calling a taxi, making reservations, helping us in anyway…) and always with à big smile ! We'll definitely come back for our wedding birthday ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumonTij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We came to Naxos a couple of years ago staying elsewhere but visited Plaka beach and saw the Medusa so thought it would be worth spending a holiday here given the great location.

First the positives - and there are many -
- you are literally on the beach and Plaka is one of the best. If you can bear to roll off your sun lounger you are a few steps away from the pool and beach bar.
- just a very relaxed, chilled out feeling
- lovely gardens between your room and the pool / beach
- stunning views from our room.
- every single one of the staff were very friendly and helpful - Eddie serving breakfast, Mariangela on front desk and responding to my emails, to the ladies at the beach bar.
- my kids voted these the best milkshakes in all of the 3 places we stayed on this trip!
- the overall location is great - yes you are down some bumpy dusty roads but that is part of the charm of it and you are still only a 15 minute drive away from the main town
- there were very few other Brits here for some reason and we liked that!

Second - some areas for improvement
- the breakfast is average. Whilst the service was prompt and friendly, there were a couple of occasions when eggs were served cold. The overall variety was not great also.
- we had dinner the first night and it was the most expensive meal we had in our whole time on Naxos but probably one of the worst in terms of standard. We never ate at the hotel again.
- the rooms are dated and tired. Whilst you come here for the location, we felt based on other places we have stayed in the Cyclades (Paros, Mykonos, Naxos, Ios) over the last 4 years, these need a radical overhaul. Yes clean and tidy but past their best.

So overall we all enjoyed it - and I would love to score them a 5 given all the plus points and how relaxed we felt - but I can only give them a 4 given what needs improving.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Our family of four was exploring the island by ATV's and I followed my instinct to turn down one of the understated dirt roads toward the beach in search of a lunch stop. The location of the outdoor lunch area next to the beach was just Perfect. A pleasant surprise for road weary, hot, dusty ATV travelers! The food was great, the Greek salad huge, and we even took a dip in the pool after swimming in the ocean. The staff was welcoming, the clientele was very diverse (no Americans we could see, which I prefer!)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank JulieLansaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We absolutely loved the resort: from the moment we arrived we were enchanted by the beautiful garden, the amazing pool and the bar near the beach. The rooms are very spacious and contain everything you need. In the evening we enjoyed the lovely food the resort offered. The best thing about the Medusa Resort are the people who work there: they are incredibly kind and offer all the help you might need. Eddie in particular has made us smile every day. We will most certainly return to the Medusa Resort because it is the best place to relax and have a great time.

Room Tip: Als je in het gebouw boven de receptie zit, heb je een mooi uitzicht over de tuin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiselambaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel is a at the far end of the beach away from Naxos Town, a car is essential and we would probably stay nearer Naxos Town next time. The owner couple are great very friendly, check in was efficient and we were shown to our room and a quick tour of the grounds. Room was very clean, large comfortable bed, good supply of hot water and amenities. Nice balcony. Wifi was an issue in the room - virtually non exsistent despite the management trying to sort the issue out, also no wifi around the pool or on the beach. Breakfast service is slow and chaotic and really lets the place down I am afriad, Quality of food was also poor. The beach area is around a dozen sunbeds laid out on the public beach - a shame the hotel did not rake or clean the little bit of beach they used. We opted for sunbeds around the pool as seemed better than the beach which was a shame. Here beds better and the pool was clean and refreshing. Poolside Bar has a limited snack menu again quality of the food was not great, selection offered was also poor. Would we return no - as it is not really a "resort" it is a B & B with a pool by the beach, a long way out from town with I am afraid poor service and food. We did not try dinner. The plus was a comfortable room and great management/ owner couple

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andypoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
5.6 km away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
6.1 km away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
452 reviews
1.1 km away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#1 of 7 in Plaka
194 reviews
5.9 km away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
198 reviews
4.1 km away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Resort

Address: Plaka Beach, Plaka 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range: RM 302 - RM 1,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medusa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medusa Resort is 12klm away from the centre of Naxos, Chora, and is situated at the beautiful 7klm long, beach of Plaka. Medusa Resort consists of 14 standard double rooms, 2 deluxe double rooms, 1 maisonette, 1 family suite, 1 junior suite and 2 executive suites. Each room is just steps away from the beach and has a panoramic view of the resort's tropical garden and the blue and turquoise sea. Guests will experience magnificent sunsets from their balconies and verandas. The Resort also offers an a la carte restaurant, a seawater swimming pool and a beach/pool bar among other facilities, such as laundry service. Doctor on call. Wake up call services. Newspaper of choice delivered upon request, shuttle bus service (from the port or airport to the hotel and vice versa), outdoor parking, Room service, BBQ nights, sun beds, umbrellas and beach towels, our friendly service combined with the unique location, are the major elements, which contributes to the absolute satisfaction and relaxation of each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Medusa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Plaka
Medusa Hotel Naxos City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing