We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
39
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superb food beautiful terrace the river using local produce baked camembert with honey stayed here amanda apartment owner
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked bed and breakfast for two nights and decided to stay for a third. A great setting by the river, welcome very friendly and attentive, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast a good start for the day. We will definitely stay again when we are next in the Dordogne.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33590John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have family living in the area, when I come and see them I use this hotel as my home base. Since my last visit the rooms have been revamped and modernized. Breakfast was excellent, and the dinners were a feast. Nothing was too much trouble for them. As an American it was refreshing to stay in a hotel where there is no TV in the room. Trust me you don't miss it! Waking up to birdsong and the local church bells was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tanran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Simple,well prepared fresh produce in a riverside restaurant. An excellent plain, no frills restaurant.
Friendly, very correct owners and staff.
Rooms are too basic for our taste but further, necessary, refurbishment is underway with some rooms already completed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Amanda the chef, sommelier,front of house and much more is really an excellent host. The friendly relaxed service sets you up for the day whether you are simply on holiday and want to stay close by the wonderful setting that this hotel enjoys or dashing off to birdwatch or botanise in the rich meadows and hills in the area. Evening meals are a delight with something a bit special each evening as she tries new and innovative takes on dishes. They all came off as far as I was concerned. We returned fully refreshed despite having a busy week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suffolkorchidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stumbled across Le Barrage when we were trying to find a quick lunch. Despite arriving after the kitchen had closed for the lunch period, we had a warm welcome, were offered drinks and then the menu was brought out to us. The chef came out and said she wouldn't hear of us leaving without lunch and promptly pulled together our order, which was delicious. The setting was beautiful - right on the Dordogne, overlooking "Le Barrage" - damn, with people wandering up and down the rivet path - everyone says "Bonjour" as they walk past.
We returned again for the most amazing "Menu de Jour" which was not only great value for a four course lunch, but excellent cuisine - the dessert was a chocoholics dream!! The waitress was French, but so very accomodating in explaining things slowly to us in French so we could understand whilst trying out our french on her.
We would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DordogneExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews