We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem on the Dordogne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
Reviewed 18 August 2017

So glad that we found this beautiful hotel and restaurant. Amanda and George were so friendly and welcoming and we had a fantastic stay. We stayed in the one-bed apartment which was brilliant value for money, comfortable and had everything you would need so that it felt like home.

The location is perfect, set in a lovely little village that is very peaceful and quiet and right on the river. It was lovely to get up in the morning to the sound of birdsong and look out at the view.

The restaurant is wonderful, a great menu and Amanda caters for everyone. As a vegetarian I was really happy to see a good choice of vegetarian food and especially enjoyed the camembert with honey. My two children (one of which can be exceptionally fussy!) were really happy with the children's menu. My partner loved the local fish and steak. The desserts are so good that we had to work our way through the whole menu during our stay. And it's all homemade and makes use of local produce - perfect.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed on for an extra night and have already booked to come back next year. Le Barrage is a real gem on the Dordogne and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SO892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

All 6 of us had delicious meals in Le Barrage. My wife phoned to book in the afternoon before visiting in the evening.

We had aperitifs overlooking the river and perused the menu. The owners are English and the daughter was friendly and helpfully took time to explain certain items on the menu.

There really was something for everyone - my daughter who is vegetarian had the cepes risotto so did my wife & her mother. My son had the baked camembert with honey and my father-in-law and me had the Sander fish from the Dordogne river! None of us were disappointed. Everything beautifully served and everyone enjoyed the wonderful ice cream desserts and delicious Bergerac rose wine.

We are planning on visiting again during our holiday. The owner & chef even told us she would make some special vegetarian dish next time.

All in all, a superb dinner in a unique setting - thank you! We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

An excellent little find, off the main tourist route. It is in a small village next to the river, the service was polite and friendly and the food delicious. Would highly recommend the baked Camembert with honey, a large portion of fries and salad. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 123Tiger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Had a convivial and enjoyabe lunch wirh friends at the Barrage yesterday. Particulally appreciated the first course of smoked duck breast which was followed by stuffed pork and cheese. Live music from Alec Crowe a nice touch too. Many thanks Amanda.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank davidaeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Lovely Mothers day lunch. Well done Amanda and your team for a lovely lunch. The food was good and the music from Alex on the piano made the day. Hope to experience many more. A bonus for our village. well done !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank hall98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
2.4 km away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
179 reviews
4.2 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 4 in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
38 reviews
2.1 km away
Les Hautes Claires
Les Hautes Claires
#3 of 4 in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage

Address: Bourg, 24150 Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
Price Range: RM 312 - RM 323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing