We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Greenwood Motels(Appleby)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marama Vineyard(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkside Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treehouse(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
34
30
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
30
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself contained unitbedroom kitchenfree wififlight pathrabbit islandgreat value for moneynelson airportshort driveroad noisesitecabintoiletshelenfacilitiesmotelcleanlinessunits
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Stayed here for one night in mid-march in a two bedroom kitchen cabin. The cabin itself was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed including a very comfy couch. The toilet blocks were also spotlessly clean - probably the cleanest I've come across at a holiday park. Very, very impressed! After coming off a 4 day tramp it was great to get clean, do all the washing and have an amazing night's sleep in a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have just returned from the Abel Tasman walk which was amazing but were really looking forward to my hot shower at home.
Hope we see you again. Kind regards. HELEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Very clean with enclosed patio area which was surrounded by a pretty garden. The room had a very comfortable lounge suite and a lazy boy chair. 7 min walk to main shopping area with BYO Thai and Indian restaurants. One major downside was that our motel was situated next to a busy road and on the flight path to Nelson airport. The traffic noise was continual until late at night. Ask for a Motel that doesn't back onto the main road.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ragdoll5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, General Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi
We are lucky with our selection of restaurants in Richmond. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the road noise we do have double glazing but it still doesn't block out the road noise. Cheers Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Sadly I can't give a minus the manager was shocking. When we pre booked we told him we had 3 chihuahuas, as some places dont like dogs and was told that wouldn't be a problem at all. On our first day there the manager came to our site and in a REALLY loud voice so everyone in the camp heard he said "we have a problem if your dogs bark again you have to move on" he repeated it several times. We have never been so embarrassed with other campers starring while the manager told us off. We were forced to put the dogs in a kennel. He was a horrible man and as we weren't getting our money back (we were booked for 4 nights) we had to stay. Never stay at this awful place the experience was absolutely horrific and I can't say that strong enough.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Owner at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

What was said was " We have a problem. I have been getting complaints from other quests and I can hear them (dogs) from the office. If you can't keep them quiet you'll have to move on. the man replied ok i'll put them in the van. Said once. A refund would not have been a problem but guests just left. above is somewhat embellished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Three of us stayed in a Cabin with kitchen. Clean, beds comfortable and suprisingly quiet. We were right next to the toilet block so getting up in the night was not a problem! They were serviced every day. One daughter was sick for a day, they provided her with an extra warm fur blanket which she appreciated. You can walk to the Mall,my grand children visited and used the pool but its very cold even this time of year!. Staff owners very helpful, would go back again.

Room Tip: They have a wide range of accomodation suitable for people with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thanks for your good comments.
Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Pity you didn't get the usual warm Nelson weather while you were here - maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed here in the early new year. We booked the 2 bedroom motel. It was spacious, super clean and the beds were really comfortable. My daughter made use of the swimming pool and there was a nice lay ground as well. Friendly service in the office as well. The only gripe was the liquid soap dispensers, would have been nice to have a few little bars of soap for guests as well, I didn't bring any soap as I'd expected the small bars of soap to be available. The liquid soap wasn't nice in the shower. A short walk to the Richmond shops and mall. Very reasonable tariff per night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Hi
Thanks for your kind comments. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry about the soap. We used to have small soaps but moved to liquid soap a few years ago. I still have a box in our store room so on your next stay just ask the office.
Kind regards. HELEN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews