We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; clean, comfy and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The motel is where we stayed but they also have cabins and a camping area. The motel room was big and spacious, tidy and simply set out. We were given free wifi passwords which was quick and easily accessible. The shower was a great temperature and strong on pressure. The bathroom sink could have been a little bigger but was good enough for a night or two. There is no soap provided for the bathroom so you will need to buy your own but you need to buy food anyway (it is a Motel not Hotel). Very clean tidy, would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleAtkinson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi Nicole
Glad your stay went well. Sounds like your family all had a good time at the wedding.
Sorry about the soap - all our units usually have soap dispensers - I will look into that.
Appreciate you taking the time to comment and thanks for staying with us.
All the best HELEN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Stayed here for one night in mid-march in a two bedroom kitchen cabin. The cabin itself was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed including a very comfy couch. The toilet blocks were also spotlessly clean - probably the cleanest I've come across at a holiday park. Very, very impressed! After coming off a 4 day tramp it was great to get clean, do all the washing and have an amazing night's sleep in a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have just returned from the Abel Tasman walk which was amazing but were really looking forward to my hot shower at home.
Hope we see you again. Kind regards. HELEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Very clean with enclosed patio area which was surrounded by a pretty garden. The room had a very comfortable lounge suite and a lazy boy chair. 7 min walk to main shopping area with BYO Thai and Indian restaurants. One major downside was that our motel was situated next to a busy road and on the flight path to Nelson airport. The traffic noise was continual until late at night. Ask for a Motel that doesn't back onto the main road.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ragdoll5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, General Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi
We are lucky with our selection of restaurants in Richmond. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the road noise we do have double glazing but it still doesn't block out the road noise. Cheers Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Sadly I can't give a minus the manager was shocking. When we pre booked we told him we had 3 chihuahuas, as some places dont like dogs and was told that wouldn't be a problem at all. On our first day there the manager came to our site and in a REALLY loud voice so everyone in the camp heard he said "we have a problem if your dogs bark again you have to move on" he repeated it several times. We have never been so embarrassed with other campers starring while the manager told us off. We were forced to put the dogs in a kennel. He was a horrible man and as we weren't getting our money back (we were booked for 4 nights) we had to stay. Never stay at this awful place the experience was absolutely horrific and I can't say that strong enough.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Owner at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

What was said was " We have a problem. I have been getting complaints from other quests and I can hear them (dogs) from the office. If you can't keep them quiet you'll have to move on. the man replied ok i'll put them in the van. Said once. A refund would not have been a problem but guests just left. above is somewhat embellished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Three of us stayed in a Cabin with kitchen. Clean, beds comfortable and suprisingly quiet. We were right next to the toilet block so getting up in the night was not a problem! They were serviced every day. One daughter was sick for a day, they provided her with an extra warm fur blanket which she appreciated. You can walk to the Mall,my grand children visited and used the pool but its very cold even this time of year!. Staff owners very helpful, would go back again.

Room Tip: They have a wide range of accomodation suitable for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thanks for your good comments.
Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Pity you didn't get the usual warm Nelson weather while you were here - maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 km away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
63 reviews
8.1 km away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
0.3 km away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
2.9 km away
The Pear Orchard Lodge
The Pear Orchard Lodge
#1 of 6 in Richmond
149 reviews
0.1 km away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Motel & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Motel & Holiday Park

Address: 29 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7002, New Zealand (Formerly Richmond Motel & Top 10 Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: RM169 - RM297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Motel & Holiday Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, an outdoor pool and free on-site parking, Richmond Motel & Holiday Park is just 5 minutes' walk from shops and restaurants. It features apartments with a fully equipped kitchen and a private courtyard patio. The property is 15 minutes' drive south of Nelson. The Richmond Motel is 5 minutes drive from ASB Aquatic Centre and Saxton Field Sports Complex. It is 8 minutes' drive from the World of Wearable Art. Kaiteriteri Beach and Abel Tasman National Park are both within an hours' drive. Communal facilities include a shared kitchen, a guest lounge area and a laundry room. You can shared an outdoor meal in the BBQ area, while younger guests can enjoy the children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Motel & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing