We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Days 1 Night in Kuala Selangor Trip”
Review of Melawati Ria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melawati Ria Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Kuala Selangor B&B and Inns
KL
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2 Days 1 Night in Kuala Selangor Trip”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family and I just went to Kuala Selangor and decided to stay in Melawati Ria Hotel. The condition of the hotel are quite well maintain. Price reasonable. Suitable for small family or bag packers. However, the hotel does not provide toilet paper. Only towel is provided. But this is easy to get as around the hotel there is 7 eleven or supermarket you can easily get it. on second day about 8.30 am, our room door was knock by the cleaner. At first we thought it was the sound came from next door but then when our room knob was open, we got a shock and said "halo" then the cleaner quickly said sorry and close back our door. Weird, where got cleaner do cleaning so early? Aren't they suppose to check with the recept before they do the cleaning. I'm not saying something bad bout the hotel, is just weird.....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLIDAYKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My family stayed one night in Kuala Selangor to check out the monkeys and fireflies nearby. We arrived by hire car off the main north/south expressway. Traffic in KS is a little wild, by Australian standards, but still not as crazy as other parts of SE Asia. This hotel was very very basic. You get what you pay for so no complaints on that front from us. Our room was on the top level which you had to get to by stair as there is no lift. This isn't a big deal except if you have a lot of heavy luggage which you don't want to leave in the car which has to be parked on the street at the front. Nobody during our stay spoke any English which made finding the Kelip Kelip (fireflies) impossible when asking for advice. The beds were clean and the staff were friendly and keen to assist anyway they could. The bathroom was a bit on the rough side and no toilet paper so arrive prepared. At least they had a toilet that sit can on! Would we stay again? Probably, as it is very good value and tolerable for one or two nights. Remember the toilet paper.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Hotel is a bit spartan but clean. We thought it was a very good choice for our one night visit to Kuala Selangor. It's in Old Town. We rented 2 rooms - spring for the window rooms. Only one of ours came with toilet paper (but I was prepared from earlier reviews). We reached KS by a 1 1/2 hour bus ride from KL, arrived about 4 pm - plenty of time for a walking trip to the Nature Park or the nearby hill where we found monkeys, monkeys and more monkeys! The owner of the Melawati Ria was terrific. She drove us to the firefly park, picked us up for a late fresh seafood dinner, and brought us home for a reasonable 80 RM for 3. The next day, she made breakfast for us. We had a tough time getting back to KL, we didn't know the KL buses don't come all the way into Old Town (at least at that time of day). Found a bus driver to a different city who took us to the New Town bus stop for 1RM pp, then found a bus back to KL.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueA48230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarifa, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed 1 night, just to see the fireflies. When you arive at the bus station walk 200m north west and turn left on the big street. At the 1st trafic light, turn left and you'll see the hotel. The rooms are almost clean, ask to see all the rooms, like this you choose one that fits you. If you want to arrange the taxi to see the fireflies, ask the reception, they will bring you for 40RM and back. Not much to see around. Leave KL at 14h, it's good enought. Take the bus 141 close by central market

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miguelmonte78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

For backpackers and budget travellers it's a good, reasonably clean place for a short stay. The staff are friendly and will help with what then can. Rooms are not made up during the stay, though if you want clean towels ask and they will gladly supply them, this would probably be the same for sheets. Toilet paper is not supplied, though there is a store in the block behind the hotel that sells it. Definitely choose the window rooms, pay a little bit extra it's worth it, as we wouldn't recommend the rooms without windows due to poor ventilation. We were taken to one of the non-window rooms at first by mistake.
The beds (two double beds in the room) were new and very comfy, with clean bed linen. The towels are clean though a little threadbare. The odd mosquito was coming into our room, we suspect through the bottom crack in the door, so keep some insect repellant on hand.
There's a downstairs restaurant run by the hotel with good food, and a number of other restaurants in the immediate area. I particularly liked the chicken curry at Auntie Kopitiam a block behind the hotel, across from the Public Bank.
The hotel owner is very friendly and will help with things like getting to the Fireflies for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photonomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Selangor
2.6 km away
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
#2 of 3 in Kuala Selangor
38 reviews
24.7 km away
A+ Boutique Hotel
A+ Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sekinchan
53 reviews
24.8 km away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sekinchan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Apps Hotel
Apps Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
46 reviews
1.7 km away
Sun Inns Hotel Pasir Penambang (KS Botanic)
Sun Inns Hotel Pasir Penambang (...
#5 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
2 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Kapar Hotel Kuala Selangor
Grand Kapar Hotel Kuala Selangor
#4 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melawati Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melawati Ria Hotel

Property: Melawati Ria Hotel
Address: No. 15 Jalan Raja Jalil, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Selangor
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Selangor
Price range (per night): RM51 - RM73
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melawati Ria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Melawati Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing