We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices”
Review of The King Stag

The King Stag
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Bushey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Ate here with friends on a business trip, you can create your own burger which is nice and good for picky eaters, service was good, there were interesting specials for starters etc and prices were very reasonable!

Thank hannah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your great review. We hope you will come in on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

For me this small restaurant in Bushy is great as you can take your dogs in after or before a walk. Set relax and have a good meal. They even give the dog a bowl of water .;)

Thank sandra523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are so glad you and your four legged friend are enjoying our pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Lovely pub for having a drink, very dog friendly, with dog snacks on the bar and they sell dog "beer". Good atmosphere, nice decor and staff are friendly. 9 of us went for Sunday lunch and were pretty dissapointed to be honest. Nut roast was tasteless, my husbands beef was very fatty and the buns on the burgers were burnt. The sticky toffee puddings had quite clearly been microwaved as they hardened up as you ate them and resembled a stale cake.
Expensive for the quality of food dished up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello.

I'm sorry your food was not up to scratch. On Sunday we had an unwell chef, who battled to come in but due to severe mouth pain wasn't really with it, this put the Kitchen team under immense pressure and I am so sorry this affected yours and your fellow dinners experience with us. I can assure you this is a one off and I do hope you will try us again.

Please could you call me on 07866484219 where I would like to apologise in person.

Many thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

A great pub for lunch. Decor is open and modern. From the cars parked it looked to be quiet but there must have been many locals as it was busy but not too crowded and we were not rushed into ordering. A good selection of local beers and food prices are good and the Set Menu is very good value, especially the ham egg and chips where the ham was extremely tender and served hot. The burger was served with a huge amount of chips and salad and the cod was delicious. Puddings were a good size and again delicious. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the service was unobtrusive and efficient. We will be visiting again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your great comments. We are so glad you enjoyed it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Really nice little pub in Bushey. We all had burgers and sides. The sweet potato fries were really nice - huge portion. The burger was nice. And the gin and tonic went down a treat. The dessert (lemon one) wasn't overly nice though. Hugely overpriced for what it was though. Would recommend, but be prepared to spend about £40 a head for a burger and fries.

Thank krisgreen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidatthekingstag, Owner at The King Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy the dessert, we will look into this immediately.
I am also disappointed you felt it was over priced, We regularly do a local price comparison with comparable outlets and know our burger is comparably priced even though our burger mince is sourced from a local butcher and then home made, our bun is from a local artisan baker and all our desserts are home made with all the ingredients bought form local suppliers.
I have worked out the above mentioned meal to cost £30 including including an optional service charge. Even with burger toppings and sweet potato fries this wouldn't get towards the £40 mark. I hope knowing this makes you feel better about the meal and will come back. On Monday's is burger night when you get the same burger with unlimited toppings for £9.95
Once again we really are very sorry you didn't enjoy the lemon dessert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King Stag also viewed

Bushey, Hertfordshire
Bushey, Hertfordshire
 
Bushey, Hertfordshire
Bushey, Hertfordshire
 
Bushey, Hertfordshire
Bushey, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The King Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing