We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$135
View deal
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
137
47
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
137
47
10
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a warm welcome at the hotel lobby followed by proper introduction into the room and its amenities. The seaview bungalow is a really nice room with a well ventilated bathroom, a cosy hangout-porch situated in a beautiful garden. The Balinese hotel staff and restaurant staff and cleaning staff at the resort are very kind, humble and helpful. Excellent!! The menu is good, can be changed on request and offers quite some choice.

My introduction to the Werner Lau Diving Center was a hideous experience. A German lady (supposedly in charge of the diving operations) absolutely humiliated me in front of the dive school staff and other guests by shouting at me. And with no apparant reason when I checked with her. Not what I expected at all at a Werner Lau location.

The house reef is okay diving, quite a lot of sand and some nice coral pinnacles at the deep end but not very spectacular compared to Egypt for instance. The rain can affect the visibility but is still ~15 m after a rainy night. Watch out for fishing boats that sometimes sail over the designated house reef area. Some of the guest saw a humpback whale swimming by from the shore.
It would be nice for the dive staff to consider helping out a lady getting her gear from the storage when she ready for packing. No more diving and the service immediately ends.

In summary:

Beautiful hotel and very kind Balinese staff.
Diving school staff can improve on service and attitude towards the guests.
Diving is okay, but not paradise.
I will not return here.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 439PietV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

First time we were here 25 years ago. Have gone back many times, last time 2004. Much has changed and it has become more professional.
But some of the old family atmosphere is left and some of the old staff. Still friendly and happy to serve. Diving base looks great. Bungalow's are nice, but we liked the old open ones where you could feel the fresh sea breeze. And we are missing the old deity statutes.
Can recommend the Spa, excellent treatment, even if synchrone was not very synchrone anymore. Here some training is needed.....

Room tip: Choose the seafront bungalows (nr 2, 4, 6), older but the sound of the waves makes your stay memorable
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenkV18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The setting , staff and service are outstanding . The bungalows are spotless and well serviced . The staff cannot do enough for you or to make your stay enjoyable . The food is good and varied . The dive centre is well run , the dive team are professional and there are varied sites to dive. The resort offer opportunities to visit other places on the island for a fee . Can't wait to go back .

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2013

very relaxing resort. Great for family when taking a villa.
Dives are good, and kids can sleep in. Service is excellent, room quality top, trips great!

Private garden and pool is perfect, if you want to read and just don't need to watch out for the kids. Perfectly safe, away from the crowds.
you get local impressions and can easily take a walk.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirjam1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner L, Director of Sales at Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Alam Anda and even the kids enjoyed the quite location and thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor!!!

Team Alam Anda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent a week here with others who were diving. As non divers this meant unfortunately we just got to enjoy what the place offered. As two couples we stayed in one of their villas - Lumba Lumba (Dolphin) which were amazing, we had our own pool, beautiful gardens, villa each and 'entertainment' pavillion. We went really to join my family there and relax which is what we did. It was incredibly reasonable for what we got - fantastic Balinese food, great service, nothing was a problem, it was very hard to leave. This part of Bali is not as popular with tourists which has great advantages, if you want to relax, apparently the diving was world class even though we didnt do it. Fantastic spa and great massages The staff were really friendly and if we can make the trip there again ( 3 hours over the volcano!) we will go back.

Room tip: Lumba Lumba villas were amazing
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner L, Director of Sales at Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your nice comment which we appreciate very much! We hope you will make the trip over the volcano again some day and looking forward to welcome you again at Alam Anda.

Team Alam Anda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews