We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peace and Plenty Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$81
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
US$50
US$40
Trip.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duck Inn(Devonport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
2
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Gwenda and Peter made us very comfortable at our recent visit to their B&B. The double en suite room at the front of the house was tastefully furnished. Not only did we see the Ducks but the room overlooked the golf course ideal for two golf nuts like my husband and I.

Peter made fabulous breakfasts and his attention to detail could not be surpassed.
The setting was superb for Devonport beaches and nightlife. It was easy to catch the ferry to Auckland or Waiheke Island. I would recommend this lovely home to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We eased our way into New Zealand with a four night stay at the extremely comfortable Ducks Crossing , Peter and Gwenda are spot on people who are excellent exponents of the BB experience, you are welcome in their home , they will look after you and more. Our room was upstairs and was super comfy with an added balcony which was great for sitting with a beer or cup of tea. Breakfast is championed by Peter , with sugared fruit , cereal etc although we did have to give up on the cooked offering. Ducks Crossing is situated close to Lake Road , which noisy at times , just takes off the edge of an ideal location , however with the care and attention from Gwenda and a great nights sleep it is very good indeed. As an add on Devonport allegedly boasts some good eateries , words of warning must be handed out against the plethora of European type establishments , a bizarre tapas / wine bar is a confused but enjoyable place for a quick bite , places such as Nicolino Meditteranean and an Italian effort called Buona Sera are just dreadful with only friendly service saving their lazy cooking. Cafes such as Manuka and Calypso do their best and a Thai called Manna will serve up standard but at least edible curries.

Room Tip: The master double with balcony is perfect
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay with Peter and Gwenda. The room was spacious, en suite, very comfortable with its own balcony and sitting area on the flat roof at the front of the house.
There was a beautiful garden and a front view over the pond and park opposite - complete with the ducks !
Gwenda was so helpful and even insisted on taking us for a car tour of the immediate neighbourhood and viewpoint over the water towards central Auckland. She told us a little of the history of Devonport and gave us lots of advice. When we needed info on the buses back from the centre going via the hospital where our daughter works she found out all we needed to know without us even asking.
The location was not central but Devonport was walkable (20mins) and well worth a visit for nice little shops, cafes and the ferry over to Auckland harbour.
Peter was the chef at breakfast and it was superb - not bettered (but possibly equalled ) in
any of the other outstanding B & Bs we stayed in. Peter (as recorded by previous reviewer) has had a fascinating, very amusing life, Gwenda also had a lot of interesting stories to tell. Both of them were great hosts and can be very warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milfeddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We wanted a place outside Auckland ( we were there last year ) Devonport is a lovely place with 2 nice beaches with views across the mouth of the river and Auck;land behind. The Ferry goes across the river to Auckland. A lot of history to Devonport,good walks and places to see. Big choice of resturants in town.
Ducks Crossing Cottage is ideally situated. Gwenda and Peter are a lovely couple and most helpfull.Get Peter to tell you of his very interesting past. Our bedroom was spacious wth en-suite.Good breakfast.
A lovely warm and cosy place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews