We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$86
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
US$49
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$43/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Duck Inn(Devonport)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Reviews (496)
    Filter reviews
    496 results
    Traveller rating
    410
    55
    17
    11
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    410
    55
    17
    11
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnew zealandgarden roomold househost judyvictoria roomother guestsferry terminalmuesliamazing breakfasta wonderful stayfairy talebed and breakfastcomfortable roomsbig citycomplimentary porthome away from homeb bs
    Filter
    Updating list...
    14 - 19 of 496 reviews
    Reviewed 21 August 2017

    Had a 1 night stay here on a chilly August evening. The Inn is in a prime location overlooking the Devonport waterfront and about 2 minutes from the main street and 3 minutes to the ferry to Auckland city.
    The decor would suit those who enjoy the ambience of a bygone era and has been sympathetically restored and decorated. Yes it is a little jaded around the edges but this adds to the charm.
    We were warmly welcomed by the owners son and 2 gorgeous chocolate cocker spaniels who were so friendly.
    Our room was on the first floor up a lovely gracious staircase and had a small balcony overlooking the garden. Room was large and well appointed and the radiator heating made it warm and cosy. There were no electric blankets on the bed and we thought we may be cold but we weren't.
    There was a Rata tree just outside the window and we saw so many Tuis really close up, it was lovely.
    The bathroom was very spacious with double sinks and free standing shower. There was hand wash but I must say I prefer soap and the soap supplied is the smallest I have ever seen, about 1 inch square!
    There was complimentary tea & coffee and port and sherry supplied in the room also.
    We were able to park at the Inns car park but there are limited spaces.
    Parking on the street is timed so you may have to park a bit of a distance away if you wanted to go to Auckland on the ferry.
    The bed was antique so quite creaky when 1 of us turned over.
    The next morning breakfast was served in a sunny kitchen come dining room. I had the continental which included home made muesli, yoghurt and fruit and toast from the Devonport stone mill bakery I believe. Hubby had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
    We enjoyed our stay and felt very comfortable and at home . We would stay again even though this is priced at the higher end of the B & B market.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank KiwichickAuckland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

    Set in a Victorian classic home this Bed and Breakfast is not only located close to the wharf, shops and restaurants but the rooms,service and breakfast are all top notch. The owner and family are wonderful and helpful hosts. Devonport is a beautiful beach location and if you like to walk and check out 1800 era architecture this is the place to stay. The ferry to Auckland Central is only about ten minutes so staying in Devonport is a very viable option for those who have business in Auckland.

    Stayed: August 2017
    Thank travellingman2u
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

    My mom and I stayed here for the last week in June. The weather was beautiful: sunny daily with high 50s to low 60s temperatures - perfect! The owner was recovering from a recent hospital stay but we were very well cared for by her lovely daughter and delightful grandchildren! Delicious breakfasts included coffee, juice, delicious fresh fruits and our favorite plums, yogurt and granola. We then selected from waffles with fruit and bacon or eggs and bacon amongst other offerings such as pancakes.
    Our room was delightful: we had our own entrance in the back from a lush, tropical garden with palms and flowers. The room included two beds, sitting area, kitchen area including refrigerator and sink, and private bathroom.
    We loved the town of Devonport and especially the proximity to the ferry approximately a block away! Perfect to hop on for day trips to Auckland and further such as the Bay of Islands (recommended) or exploring the islands of the Harauki Gulf: Rangitoto, Tiri Tiri Matangi, and Waiheke to name a few: each a gem in it's own right! We hiked in Rangitoto, took a guided, native bird tour on Tiri Tiri Matangi and enjoyed shopping, the beaches, and Mudbrick Winery on Waiheke: don't miss lunch at Mudbrick and if you like sweet, fruity white wine, the Pinot Gris Reserve is a must!
    We enjoyed trying the restaurants in Devonport: The Esplanade Hotel with live music on Sunday evening when we arrived, the awesome fireplace at Dixie Browns, the coziness of Manuka, and great views at Devon on the Wharf.
    It says a lot for both the friendliness of the owner's family at Peace and Plenty Inn and the fabulous sights that we slept like a baby and never touched the complimentary port in our room. We truly loved our stay there!

    Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    Thank Carolyn B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

    If you want to stay in accommodation that is different from the run of sterile environments often found in modern accommodation, the Peace and Plenty Inn is for you. Perfectly situated near numerous restaurants and the ferry to Auckland City, this quaint old Victorian style house is full of character and lots of silver tea and coffee pots and antique crockery. Really enjoyed staying somewhere different

    Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Kathy R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 April 2017

    This is in an interesting building with a long heritage. The décor is Victorian and way over the top. If there is space, it's taken up with a knick-knack, whereas space is badly need for utilitarian reasons. For example, there is no desk or shelf space. There is no fridge in the room. That said, it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast was great: lovely organic eggs cooked beautifully! Be prepared to climb many stairs, both inside and out. Car parking is possible - sort of. The last car in is the only one that can get out. Also, be prepared to have your car covered with bird droppings. I feel this place is in a time-warp.

    Room Tip: Albert Room
    • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Neville B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

    Thank you so much for not only telling me but the rest of our guest what a comfortable bed you had slept in, more comfortable than your own bed at home. Neville it was somewhat surprising to read your review when we upgraded at no extra cost because you complained so much about your ankles and how you were suffering from dreadful pain in them, we gave you a larger room with a bathroom which not only had a large claw-foot bath but also a seperate shower, this bathroom is the largest we have in the house. Regarding the items in the room this are deliberately placed to match the aesthetic of the room and the rest of the house.
    In regards to the access to the back and front of the house we apologise for any inconvenience this caused you . The droppings on you car, sorry there is nothing I can do as bird life is a primary part of the Eco System of our back garden.
    Thank you for the great comments regarding our breakfast.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews