We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Our overall experience was it was like staying with an elderly aunt. The good things were the son was lovely, the breakfast was nice, and the house is close to pubs,cafes etc. The bad things were trying to find a power point to plug in the kettle or charge our phones in our room and there was no soap in the shower. The furniture is heavy and difficult to move so we had to pull out the fridge to get to a power point.In the bathroom the only soap bottle was locked in so we had to use shampoo for soap in the shower( and there wasn't much in the shampoo bottle either).The book in the room said there were chocolates in every room but we never found any!Probably a bit overpriced for what you get.Parking out back is not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Had a 1 night stay here on a chilly August evening. The Inn is in a prime location overlooking the Devonport waterfront and about 2 minutes from the main street and 3 minutes to the ferry to Auckland city.
The decor would suit those who enjoy the ambience of a bygone era and has been sympathetically restored and decorated. Yes it is a little jaded around the edges but this adds to the charm.
We were warmly welcomed by the owners son and 2 gorgeous chocolate cocker spaniels who were so friendly.
Our room was on the first floor up a lovely gracious staircase and had a small balcony overlooking the garden. Room was large and well appointed and the radiator heating made it warm and cosy. There were no electric blankets on the bed and we thought we may be cold but we weren't.
There was a Rata tree just outside the window and we saw so many Tuis really close up, it was lovely.
The bathroom was very spacious with double sinks and free standing shower. There was hand wash but I must say I prefer soap and the soap supplied is the smallest I have ever seen, about 1 inch square!
There was complimentary tea & coffee and port and sherry supplied in the room also.
We were able to park at the Inns car park but there are limited spaces.
Parking on the street is timed so you may have to park a bit of a distance away if you wanted to go to Auckland on the ferry.
The bed was antique so quite creaky when 1 of us turned over.
The next morning breakfast was served in a sunny kitchen come dining room. I had the continental which included home made muesli, yoghurt and fruit and toast from the Devonport stone mill bakery I believe. Hubby had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
We enjoyed our stay and felt very comfortable and at home . We would stay again even though this is priced at the higher end of the B & B market.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Set in a Victorian classic home this Bed and Breakfast is not only located close to the wharf, shops and restaurants but the rooms,service and breakfast are all top notch. The owner and family are wonderful and helpful hosts. Devonport is a beautiful beach location and if you like to walk and check out 1800 era architecture this is the place to stay. The ferry to Auckland Central is only about ten minutes so staying in Devonport is a very viable option for those who have business in Auckland.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank travellingman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for the last week in June. The weather was beautiful: sunny daily with high 50s to low 60s temperatures - perfect! The owner was recovering from a recent hospital stay but we were very well cared for by her lovely daughter and delightful grandchildren! Delicious breakfasts included coffee, juice, delicious fresh fruits and our favorite plums, yogurt and granola. We then selected from waffles with fruit and bacon or eggs and bacon amongst other offerings such as pancakes.
Our room was delightful: we had our own entrance in the back from a lush, tropical garden with palms and flowers. The room included two beds, sitting area, kitchen area including refrigerator and sink, and private bathroom.
We loved the town of Devonport and especially the proximity to the ferry approximately a block away! Perfect to hop on for day trips to Auckland and further such as the Bay of Islands (recommended) or exploring the islands of the Harauki Gulf: Rangitoto, Tiri Tiri Matangi, and Waiheke to name a few: each a gem in it's own right! We hiked in Rangitoto, took a guided, native bird tour on Tiri Tiri Matangi and enjoyed shopping, the beaches, and Mudbrick Winery on Waiheke: don't miss lunch at Mudbrick and if you like sweet, fruity white wine, the Pinot Gris Reserve is a must!
We enjoyed trying the restaurants in Devonport: The Esplanade Hotel with live music on Sunday evening when we arrived, the awesome fireplace at Dixie Browns, the coziness of Manuka, and great views at Devon on the Wharf.
It says a lot for both the friendliness of the owner's family at Peace and Plenty Inn and the fabulous sights that we slept like a baby and never touched the complimentary port in our room. We truly loved our stay there!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay in accommodation that is different from the run of sterile environments often found in modern accommodation, the Peace and Plenty Inn is for you. Perfectly situated near numerous restaurants and the ferry to Auckland City, this quaint old Victorian style house is full of character and lots of silver tea and coffee pots and antique crockery. Really enjoyed staying somewhere different

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
242 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
4.3 km away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,252 reviews
3 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,390 reviews
5 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: RM775 - RM1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing