We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peace and Plenty Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$86
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
US$49
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 10% below average rates

    The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Duck Inn(Devonport)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Reviews (280)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveller rating
    105
    109
    35
    18
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    105
    109
    35
    18
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsferry terminalbreakfast was includedlovely old hotelold world charmmusselsauckland cityopen fireshort visitharbour view roomquick drinkelegant hotelsun roombreakfast menuvictoria suitesconesnew zealandlounge area
    Filter
    Updating list...
    44 - 49 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed 17 October 2017

    Just an overnight stay so not much time invested in finding out about the hotel other than a comfortable bed and close to cafes.
    Arrived 15 minutes before the kitchen shut so appreciated the apple I had with me but wishing there had been a little more on the room service menu to have as a snack. The kitchen probably wouldn't have been very pleased had I ordered at that time anyway.
    The hotel offered exactly what i needed; bed and bathroom.
    It is quite old so was looking like a spruce-up would do it a world of good. The lift was near my door so a bit noisey, and street noise filters up too.
    The staff were very pleasant and efficient.
    Situated perfectly to access Devonport shops and cafes.

    Room Tip: Rooms with views also have the street noise.
    • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank GillBee2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

    Many thanks for your review and it helps us improve. I hope you enjoyed your trip for the rest of your stay.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

    We have just returned from a fabulous weekend celebrating my husband's 85th Birthday staying 2 nights at the wonderful historic Esplanade Hotel. We were upgraded from a basic room to a Harbour view suite and such a lovely time. The meals and the service were excellent and we have booked a return visit for early next year. Thanks Esplanade

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank Fay H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

    Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback and am pleased you enjoyed your time here.
    cheers Grant

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

    Three old friends caught up in the bar for an after work drink.
    Quiet ti start with then filled with commuters but still maintained a good atmosphere.
    Friendly service and a good selection if beers.
    This will be a must return to bar for us.

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    Thank swampykevin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

    Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback and am pleased you enjoyed your time here.
    cheers Grant

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

    Spent 2 nights at the esplanade in Devonport such an awesome spot right on the Waitemata harbour views to Auckland and rangitoto. The food and service was excellent and the room perfect for the views and watching the world go by.

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank Shazza252015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

    Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback and am pleased you enjoyed your time here.
    cheers Grant

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 September 2017

    Stayed at this establishment for one night in September 2017. Was given a room that had a leaking radiator heater the carpet beside the radiator was wet and rotten around the leak the smell in room was horrendous had to sleep with window wide open. As this was opposite the ferry terminal this was very noisy.
    The shower floor was filthy soap scum on tile base so just about slipped over when stepping into shower. Rest of room was very dated. Cracked floor tiles in bathroom and dirty grout between tiles.
    No radio or clock in room. When walking up to second floor room paint chips from flaking paint all over stairs didn't look like it had been cleaned in quite some time. Peeling wallpaper. Mentioned to gentlemen at checkout that the radiator was leaking onto carpet was advised it was known about and that it was getting fixed shortly. Considering the amount of carpet damage and how wet and smelly the carpet was this wasn't a recent leak absolutely disgusting that they were giving this room to guests. Will never stay here again or ever recommend it to anyone else.

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dawndebenham
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

    Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately, you had stayed right after we had a nasty flood (following some roof work that has now been rectified) and we were awaiting the assessor prior to repairs. I thought we explained this. I recall we moved you into a different room but were 100% full the first night. However, we ndid try to make up for your inconvenience and am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope you enjoyed the rst of your trip.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews