We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Pretty scenery

Loop track is an hour, but you also need to make time to get to the loop track and note you have to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Eweretta
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Local knowledge

As a local these are my observations: If you are arriving by car, organize your time to be prepared... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AllieEagle
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
15
6
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
6
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes bethells beach lane bridge small waterfall lake walk stream falls track landscape bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2021

A beautiful place to visit, although a few important things to note that you don't easily find online;

Limited parking, very busy spot but plenty more parking down the road at the beach 10mins walk back, (so you can drop off your car load at the Lake Wainamu car park before driving down there).
Parking Wardens do monitor the area so if you park where there is no parking signs you may get ticketed.

Limited toilets, toilets are at the beach, and one up on the dunes just before the lake (can be difficult to find though).

Black sand can be extremely hot, bring suitable footwear and definitely not suitable for prams of any sort.

Dog walking areas at beach (Lake Wainamu is a dog free regional park).

Sliding down the dunes seems to be advertised on blog posts a lot, although what they don't tell you is the bad accidents that happen to some people that do this. The westpac helicopter has been out several times this Summer.

No petrol stations or food shops, there is just lovely cafe but it open at the weekends and is at the beach.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank wkendadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Lake Wainamu is beautiful but most information sites don’t give the full picture of what facilities are there, which is essential none, so you need to be really well prepared to fully enjoy the day here. First of all, dogs are not permitted at the lake. There’s very limited parking at the lake car park (which is still 15 minutes walk from the lake). It’s often full by early/mid morning on weekends after which you need to park at the beach 1 km away and walk back. The beach is also where the main toilets are and also the only drinking water supply. There’s no mobile coverage so you need a plan in advance if you’re meeting someone there. There’s no permanent shops or petrol. The fabulous Bethells cafe sets up down at the beach carpark but currently only operates on weekends and can be weather dependent. Trip Advisor will point you to others but they’re at Piha - a 37 km drive away. That said, it’s great, but maybe not everyone’s idea of perfect.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank nancydavis1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

The carpark to the lake is quite small but you can park closer to Bethells beach as there are more spaces there.
To get to the lake you need to go through the gain dunes first. We opted to climb the dunes at the start so that we could walk around it at the end of the walk. After walking up the dunes, just keep walking in that general direction and you should eventually arrive at the lake. The lake is quite large and does look quite nice. There were quite a few people swimming in it but be wary that the shore of the lake drops quite suddenly. There isn't much cover on the lake so it would be wise to bring some sort of shade to protect you from the sun if you're planning to stay long.
After arriving at the lake we went to the trail that goes around the lake. It was quite scenic with nice views of the lake as well as the dunes. There is a larger area on the other side of the lake which heads to the waterfalls.
The falls are multilayered and you are able to hop into the pools to cool down a bit. We went further up the falls and the pools closer to the top had less people. We were around the third or fourth level of the falls. It looked like you were able to head further upstream but we opted to stop there, admiring the views. You can either back track or keep going along the lake and you eventually reach the pier for the lake. Instead of heading back up we just went around the dunes, back to the carpark.
It was about a 2 hour walk to get around the lake. It seemed that most people just stopped at the lake shore and stayed around there. It was an enjoyable walk and it was fairly easy, the hardest part being walking up the giant dunes.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

We hike/run bush a lot. Found it hard while visiting up here to find a suitable long walk and one that’s not inundated but swags of people yelling and carrying on (which is fine just not why I go bush). This walk is around 7km runs trip. My suggestion is follow the path on the way in (if your going clockwise), keep your feet dry. Take in the surroundings and walk over the dunes after you finish the lake circuit (toilets there if needed), then walk down into the stream take your shoes off and walk the stream back to the car park. Lovely way to finish the walk. Ran into a few groups of people but everyone was very respectful of the surroundings and people exploring them.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

My husband and I didn’t expect much but this was the most beautiful hike we have done in a while. After walking around and following the lake we got to the sand dunes which we climbed and had so much fun doing so before walking to the lake itself! If it wasn’t so cloudy I would have taken a swim, highly recommend checking it out and super family friendly!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank VanessaP4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews