We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous tranquil retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Widewath Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Askham, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Shanken
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I wanted to get away for a short break for some RnR, we were unaware of what was in store for us. Our host Alice greeted us and was very friendly, she gave us a guided tour of our accommodation and she was almost invisible throughout the rest of our stay, not intrusive at all, it was hard to believe this was a working farm as it was so peaceful. The farm is set within some magnificent natural scenery and It was wonderful waking up to the beautiful Cumbrian countryside. The accommodation is a converted barn and the bedroom is a converted cow pen. The conversion is sympathetic and in keeping with existing features, it's also wonderfully aesthetic as well as comfortable, a very good place to rest and wake up. We used this as a base for the lakes and we found it was a good base for access to the lakes. We will definitely be back next year for more tranquility.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Intermitant WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shonak254
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, great hosts and lovely accomodation”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a very warm welcome from the host family. The barn is aesthetically decorated and has everything you need, especially in the kitchen. It is very clean throughout and has a homely feel. It is evident that a lot of thought has gone into making this a home from home. The barn is ideal for couples, families with young children and groups.

Widewath Barn is set in lovely surroundings and is a great base from which to explore the Lake District. There are lots of animals on the farm, we especially liked the chickens (and chicks!) and fell in love with Mini the Jack Russell who came to say hello to us on numerous occasions.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we would definitely come again.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the thought that has gone into the barn
Liked least: Mattress was not the comfiest, wifi signal poor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views, great people, great accommodation!!!! ”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family at this fabulous barn conversion. Alice was very helpful and made us feel right at home. Set in a beautiful village with wood smoked pizzas and a heated outdoor pool!!! The kids loved it. Definitely will be going back. Top rate accommodation.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardha Sa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little Cottage !!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our two children in this cottage for 6 days..I am thrilled to know that this cottage is a listed building which dates to 17th century . Alice lives next door and is very friendly.
My kids loved staying here and enjoyed playing with their family dog ''Minnie''.
lovely views !!

Would love to come back and stay here again. Highly recommended.to anyone planning to visit lake district.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely views
Liked least: none to say
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.