We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisket sandwich”
Review of Butchie's

Butchie's
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 36 Quick Bites in Whitby
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Brisket sandwich was yummy...meat was a bit dry- would have loved more sauce. Poutine was okay, nothing special.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 315amanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

I had the WORST burger ever !
Meatloaf on a bun !
Dry and crumby !

Hush puppies & crispy yams were very good.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 457kimberleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

Food is good and we want to support a local business but both times we have ordered takeout our order was missing an item.
Very frustrating. Second time (2 out of 2) this has happened. Called the restaurant but didn’t feel like they really cared. Won’t order again.

Date of visit: October 2020
6  Thank tgandco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Wonderful place to eat and I love how they are set up. Indoor dining is not allowed due to COVID-19 but the restaurant has set up an organized flow of the place ensuring that there is plenty of physical distance between staff and patrons.

Butchie’s is defined by its massive outdoor patio that backs into a park that is called “Butchie’s Background”. So after you order and pay for your mains PLUS either 1, 2, 3 sides, then you walk out and grab a picnic table underneath the swaying trees in the patio (tables are spaced out more than the minimum 6ft distance). You also have the option of taking your food to the park right next door and have a picnic lunch!

I ordered the Butchie’s burger with relish, mustard, bacon, cheese & tomato with 1 side of mashed potatoes and a strawberry milkshake. My husband had the pulled pork burger. All the food was fresh, the meats were smoked yet juicy and nicely spiced and even my mashed potatoes were warm and creamy! The giant glass of strawberry milkshake was thick and tasted like actual strawberries! And eating outside on a nice day, made the dining experience THAT much better.

They bring the food out to you in recyclable takeout containers & the orders came pretty quickly.

This is also a GREAT place to bring families including your kids. The kids will love the spacious patio, playing with the small rocks that are on the patio and playing amongst the trees inside the patio too. They have a delicious kids menu (the kids chicken fingers were gently spiced with cumin & black pepper- which is RARE for a kids menu) and also came with an ice cream dessert.

I love this place & definitely plan on returning.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 127ilhama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

Came for lunch and loved our visit. Enjoyed seating on the picnic table tables outdoor. With COVID19 precautions, really loved how the tables were so spaced out. Had the chicken fingers, watermelon salad, and the hush puppies and enjoyed them all. Servings were big and even had some leftovers to bring home. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pandacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butchie's also viewed

Whitby, Ontario
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to Butchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.