We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substitution not acceptable”
Review of Swiss Chalet

Swiss Chalet
Ranked #126 of 393 Restaurants in Waterloo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Description: For over 64 years, Swiss Chalet has served Canadians famous Rotisserie Chicken at great value price points.
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Went in, ordered and waited in car for order. Got home and the chicken fingers which have been decent in the past were 3 small strips with pieced together something that might have been chicken. Called to speak with them and was offered a discount on an appetizer. Apparently they we’re out of chicken fingers and substituted this…oh, and there weren’t any fries…

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank D5953TWdeborahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2019

We were there last night and were disappointed that their fries have changed.
They seemed to be just your frozen variety.
Very disappointing.
Other than that it was good.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Someonesmom458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi there, our fries haven't changed. Can you please complete our online form at reviews.swisschaletfeedback.com
Your reference number is 11191118-S458

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

Meal was great. Everything was to my satisfaction.

The whole environment was relaxing and memorable.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

I live close by so often stop here for both takeout and dine in. Food is usually consistent (although got dry chicken one night it was really quiet). Friendly staff, clean place and very quick. The one problem I have with this place is the clothing choices of the servers. Most of the women wear old, tattered yoga pants and one woman was wearing these old baggy shorts. Come on management, staff in a McDonalds are more professional looking than here and it makes the place seem dumpy.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SumDude519
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Thank you for your honest feedback. We understand your concerns and would like to have the dress codes re-evaluated. Could you please fill out a short form at reviews.swisschaletfeedback.com, using the reference number 11190813-SD? Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

Have been going to this Swiss Chalet for many years and have always has a good meal with pleasant staff and reasonably priced meals. Is a big hit with the older population. Recent menu additions has kept it a very popular place to eat.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Swiss Chalet also viewed

Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.