We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect bachelorette weekend getaway!”
Review of Aisling Lakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aisling Lakehouse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The Aisling Lakehouse was everything we hoped for and more! 14 of us came up to Aikman Lake from Toronto for a bachelorette. The forecast didn't look great but we ended up with a beautiful day on Friday - we spent the day down on the dock, swimming in the lake (warm even in mid-June, probably because of the small lake size!), reading on the hammocks, and using the canoes provided. The weather on Saturday was a bit overcast/rainy so we had some indoor activities planned and made use of the awesome hot tub in the screened-in gazebo. We also spent a lot of time in the giant screened-in porch on one side of the cottage (more than enough room for all of us). For meals, cooking was a breeze because of the 3 kitchens in the cottage and multiple outdoor BBQs! Everyone had a great spot to sleep and felt well rested. We had plenty of space to park all of our cars, and plenty of space indoors to hang out together, or to find a private spot to read/nap. Lori was an absolute pleasure to work with in organizing this weekend, and she and her family made us feel very welcome during our stay. We barely noticed their presence next door (and we loved saying hello to their dogs every morning) and they assured us that our noise level was not an issue. We can't wait to come back next summer!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

We had the most wonderful time at Aisling Lakehouse! The beds were comfortable, the cabin was clean and cozy and great for spending time together as a group playing games or just reading, and the kitchens were well stocked with dishes. We loved being able to make our own meals and enjoy the peace and quiet of the woods. The property was exactly as advertised and the owners were responsive over email and in person without being intrusive. The hot tub was, unsurprising, a HUGE hit! Overall, I would highly recommend this as a great place for large groups that are looking for a quiet and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Me and 26 other friends had an incredible winter weekend getaway at the Aisling Lakehouse. The three separate but connected cottages was ideal and provided opportunities for some much needed privacy/quiet time, given the size of the group. Lori and Tom were very kind and friendly. One of our cars got stuck in a snowbank on the way up and they were quick to help. We were all impressed by how clean and organized the cottage was. All the custom wooden architectural details were very charming. We all agreed that we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossanatudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Loved the time my boyfriend and I spent here this past weekend. The fire kept us warm all weekend and we went to the opening day of Johnston's cranberry marsh's skating trail in Bala, only 45 min drive away! It was a beautiful weekend and we had more than we needed at the lake house, which we basically had all to ourselves. Very peaceful and relaxing place. Must be even more amazing in the summer!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We were a group of five families including kids and rented a couple of the cottages at Sundog retreat. We had a fabulous time and particularly loved the homely atmosphere at the cottages. Cottages were well kept and very comfortable. Cutlery and linen were clean and plentiful.The location was beautiful and picturesque. We had fun at the lake swimming and boating. The hot tub was perfect to relax.

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the kids had a great time playing with the friendly lab...

Only regret was the trip was too short and we should have stayed a couple of nights more to explore the wilderness better.

Only tip to first timers would be to try and get there before sunset as the route through the dirt road to the cottage can be tricky.

Thanks Tom, Lori, Rachel and Rebecca for a great fathers day weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dups72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parry Sound hotels
6.6 km away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#1 of 19 in Parry Sound
123 reviews
3.9 km away
Grand Tappattoo Resort
Grand Tappattoo Resort
#6 of 19 in Parry Sound
103 reviews
17.3 km away
Chalet Rosemarie
Chalet Rosemarie
#1 of 1 in Nobel
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
Parry Sound Inn and Suites
#3 of 19 in Parry Sound
442 reviews
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 19 in Parry Sound
153 reviews
6.1 km away
Super 8 Parry Sound
Super 8 Parry Sound
#13 of 19 in Parry Sound
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling Lakehouse

Address: 79 Sundog Rd | Seguin, Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 0B2, Canada (Formerly The SunDog Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Parry Sound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Parry Sound
Price Range: RM3,875 - RM4,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aisling Lakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic cottage experience for your family or group on a private and serene lake. Aisling Lakehouse offers 3 interconnected cottage suites that allow your group to be together when you want to be and separate when you need to be. Open year round ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aisling Lakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sundog Retreat Hotel Parry Sound
Aisling Lakehouse Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing