We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in downtown Kitchener, On”
Review of The Walper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walper Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We recently spent 6 nights in The Walper Hotel in Kitchener, On. This hotel has been recently re-opened after a complete renovation and is beautiful to look at and very comfortable to stay in.

The staff at the Walper are very friendly and helpful, the bar on the second floor offers tasty imaginative cocktails and the restaurant below the hotel, TWH Social, although outside and around the corner, was excellent as well.

The coffee provided in the room was great, a nice treat first thing in the morning.

A big "Thank You" to the staff for making our visit very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor were great and although we faced the street, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroforbes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domini B, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Hi Caroforbes5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Walper Hotel.
Our team is extremely pleased to be on the other side of renovations and welcoming guests to share our much-loved spaces.
We are committed to constant improvement and growth, so your specific feedback regarding the elements you most enjoyed are extremely valuable as we pinpoint the areas to develop and enhance.

I am proud to pass along your thanks to the team, and look forward to hosting you again when next you are in the Kitchener area.

Regards,
Domini Baldasaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Walper hotel is located in a central location in Kitchener. It has been renovated recently in a very eclectic style. It's very hard to describe but absolutely fantastic. The rooms are very cozy and have a bunch of design things in them. I especially liked the little paper bag with coffee in the room, which carries a hand written note for every guest. I felt very welcome and would definitely stay here again. I hope I get the chance.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sprudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hi Sprudu,

So lovely to hear you chose to stay with The Walper Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Really great to hear some of our little touches made a warm welcome for you!

We hope you come and stay with us again!

Warmly,

Chris Martin
Curator of Cool
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at the Walper Hotel during a quick overnight trip to Kitchener in April, and my experience was nothing short of fantastic. The attention to detail in my room and throughout the hotel was impossible to ignore, and provided an aesthetically pleasing environment that left nothing to be desired. The high quality of service provided by the entire staff was second to none. When I arrived, I enjoyed an evening cocktail and charcuterie at the bar, and the mixologist was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Later I enjoyed a delicious and fulfilling dinner at TWH Social, where the menu was creative and carefully planned. The level of refined taste and sophistication at the Walper sets the bar high, and I will surely return the next time I’m in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aevelynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello aevelynjones,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with The Walper Hotel! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

It is wonderful to hear when guests take advantage of our cocktail bar, The Lokal, and our on-site restaurant, TWH Social. We're also delighted you enjoyed the aesthetics!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and we can't wait to host you again!

Until next time,
Chris Martin
Curator of Cool
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at The Walper Hotel recently. I hadn't expected to find such a trendy boutique hotel in the area. The rooms are modern and very tastefully done. My room was very large and the bathroom was beautifully laid out. Everything was new. I loved the fact that I had access to a little fridge (not mini bar) stocked with a few soft drinks and water for my consumption, as well as milk for morning coffee or tea. It also had a 'pour over' in room coffee set which could make either tea or coffee at the correct temperature. Just a note to the hotel - maybe leaving a plain black tea would be a good idea along with the flavoured variety that was available.

Although I really enjoyed the hotel, my room was on an internal courtyard which had bright lights from the corridors shining all night. The blinds did not fully block it out and I had difficulty sleeping.

I also want to note just how friendly and helpful the hotel staff were. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

A couple of small downsides - valet parking was full when I arrived and there really isn't a place to wait outside with the car. I had to go to the municipal lot round the corner and bring my luggage back with me. The other downside was that check out was very slow so you need to leave a bit of time to get through that in the morning. That said, I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If light affects your sleep, ask for a room not looking out on to the couryard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheGentleGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hi TheGentleGourmand,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with The Walper Hotel. We are Waterloo Region's only boutique hotel, thanks for noticing!

We are going to check into the corridor lighting, as that is unpleasant and the lights must not have shut off properly on their timer -- please know you can text or call our Front Desk at any hour of the day and let them know about anything you need!

We do have a fast check-out option that our Front Desk team will tell you all about or you can find more info on the Smart TV in your guest room.

We look forward to hosting you again and taking that 4-star review and turning it into a 5-star review!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Curator of Cool
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

A contemporary boutique hotel that is very comfortable. Lobby is small and there are not many good views but the décor is beautiful. The restaurant is very good. The bar looks nice but I did not use it.

Room Tip: Good price for a boutique hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimbo1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi jimbo1069,

Thank you so much for the feedback and for choosing to stay with The Walper Hotel.

We're so glad you found TWH Social enjoyable and we hope next time you will stop in and try one of our award-winning mixologist's cocktails!

Warm regards,

Chris Martin
Curator of Cool
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
729 reviews
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
767 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Address: 20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: RM563 - RM671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing