We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, very small room”
Review of The Walper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walper Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a wedding in kitchener. Staff was lovely and overall hotel was gorgeous. Main issue was that our room was tiny. I know that it's a "unique hotel" and "every room is different" but this was so small as to be non-functional. There wasn't a towel rack in the bathroom (not enough room) and zero counter or storage space in the bathroom. It was difficult to even walk around the room due to how small it was. There was an armoire where you could hang SOME clothes but no real storage space to speak of. Considering that we saw other rooms with walk in closets, large arm chairs, etc for the same price as ours......that was really annoying. Those rooms should be reconfigured somehow to make them more functional. It was a major problem.

Also we didn't get fresh towels our second day and had to hunt them down, which was necessary since we could not hang ours to dry.

Overall lovely hotel and great location, but room size would deter me from ever recommending this hotel unfortunately.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank raseitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Raseitz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The Walper Hotel and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

As a boutique hotel, our 92 rooms are distinctly different which allows us to tailor each guests' experience to their personal preference. We are disappointed to hear this particular room was not the right fit for you. We would love to connect with you so we can ensure your notes are registered to your guest profile so that on your next visit we can allocate a room that meets your preferred experience.

We very much look forward to having you in again and it is our goal to turn your stay into a 5-star+ stay the next time!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

I stayed at the Walper for a business trip in Kitchener. The hotel is beautiful - a combination of old and new. Service was great, rooms were clean, and amenities were top notch. Anyone traveling to DT Kitchener should definitely consider!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank labuttec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Hi Labuttec,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Throughout our renovations we really tried to tie together our past and present and are delighted that you appreciate our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Walper when you return to Kitchener!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Really nice and very " cool" hotel
Very friendly staff, beautiful rooms and every detail was perfect
Nice coffe maker, free water , large room with air condition
Don't get much better
Nice coffe shop for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Helle T,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! It was a pleasure to host you and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice, unique hotel, with large, well decorated and furnished rooms. The staff is very nice and helpful. It's located in a great location in downtown Kitchener. And the price was extremely reasonable for such a nice, upscale hotel.

However, I'd suggest fixing a few problems. The thermostats in the rooms weren't working during the first real hot spell of the summer. My thermostat stayed at 25 degrees Celsius, and every time I tried to lower the temperature, it would ignore my input and go back to 25 degrees, which was uncomfortably warm. I talked multiple times with the front desk staff, who couldn't figure out how to fix it. Eventually they said it was a known problem an engineer was working on it. At one point they seemed to fix the problem, but then it quickly went back to 25 degrees. So, no matter how nice the hotel was, something like this just ruins the experience.

The other problem was the poorly designed "smart TVs." I work in technology and it took myself and someone from the front desk more than 5 minutes to figure out how to turn on the TV. Literally, a very nice employee had to come to my room and fumble around for five minutes before he happened to press something on the back that turned on the TV. The next night I figured it out myself after about five minutes of trial and error. Of course, the hotel didn't design these TVs, but it shouldn't be such a chore to turn on a TV.

So, overall a very nice hotel, but I'd suggest working hard to fix these two problems. Guests should t have to deal with these issues.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hi James R,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We truly believe that feedback is a gift as it helps us to continually evolve and grow, and helps us improve on the level of service we offer our guests.

We are going into our first summer season post renovations and can assure you we have identified these issues and are working hard to ensure these are corrected.

We very much look forward to having you stay with us again and are excited to show you the progress that will be made to ensure your stay is 5star+!

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

This hotel has a completely new interior - I was there with my family and our room was spotless and nothing had a scratch. Pretty cool decor. and really friendly staff with very fast service. Parking close by and the area is clean although a fair number of street people roaming around in the morning. Downtown is still developing but has a artsy and edgy feel and is Queen St West-like. Great place to stay for downtown festivals in the summer. Price is reasonable and it was very quiet when we were there. I highly recommend this place. Whoever designed and renovated it has fun taste and deserves a lot of credit for investing in an area that I used to see as very rundown and wouldnt think to take my family to stay around there.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Wildthing_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael N, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hi Wildthing_11,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our renovations! It was a pleasure to host you and we are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when you visit the Kitchener-Waterloo area next.

Very best,
Rachael Newbury
The Walper Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
728 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Address: 20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: RM565 - RM669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing