We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is second to none!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portage Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality is second to none!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We arrived at Portage Inn at around 5pm to stay overnight before making our way to Algonquin Provincial Park the next day. Nancy and Sidney, the proprietors, were extremely hospitable making us feel right at home, treating us as if we were one of the family. We spent hours talking to Nancy and Sidney and I played pool with Sidney.

We were treated to a nice breakfast the next morning and Nancy helped us in planning the rest of our weekend trip. Nothing was too difficult for her as she pulled out her laptop to look things up for us as we needed.

It was a great start to our weekend trip which we continued to Algonquin Provincial Park to see the spectacular fall colours. I highly recommend Portage Inn to any traveller and we plan to return later in the year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a lovely old inn on a winding Muskoka road on Peninsula (Pen) Lake outside of Huntsville. The owners are authors and they are very interesting people with an absorbing book collection, although I really only had time to chat with proprietor Nancy. This family-run operation is nicely situated with lake views, beach right there, lovely rooms, bar/breakfast room all kept in charming period style (the inn dates from the 1800s). The breakfast was lovely and varied with fresh orange juice, eggs, fruit, yogurt, basically everything one could ask for. Price was very reasonable. Their website mentions they donate their inn for use for community/charitable purposes so that says something about the owners--something good. I highly recommend this place for a holiday or business stop-over (I was there on conference, held off-site). Would love to return in the summer or later when the colours turn.

Room Tip: The lakeview room (black and white tuile decor) was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you are looking for the perfect place for a restful time a way / a retreat / family reunion / wedding, check out The Portage Inn. This is a beautifully restored 100 + year old inn, with bed and breakfast rooms each with their own bathroom. They also have a two level chalet that can be rented as a whole or upper and lower levels separately.

I stayed with a group of friends in the upper portion of the Chalet. It was the perfect getaway for a few days. I definitely want to stay there for a longer period of time.

The gracious owners/operators Nancy and Sydney Kirkpatrick made the visit even more enjoyable. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leanne132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

From the moment we checked in (and we did arrive a little early) the owners were extremely helpful. We were able to launch our boat close by and had 2 lakes to choose from, Lake of Bays or Penn Lake. We chose Penn Lake this time and were able to catch both small mouth bass and pike. We stayed at the B&B and the room was comfortable and had a beautiful view of the lake. Our breakfasts were delicious. The Inn is full of old age charm and the hospitality provided by Nancy, Sid and their children is second to none. Although the weather was not ideal it is a beautiful place to curl up beside the fireplace and read a good book (the inn has an extraordinary library) or play a friendly game of pool. Huntsville is only a 5 minute drive for those who want to do some shopping . Thanks Nancy and Sid we will be back! Your place is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarleneP5561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
11.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
184 reviews
11.8 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
471 reviews
4.5 km away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,996 reviews
12.0 km away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntsville
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portage Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portage Inn & Cottages

Property: Portage Inn & Cottages
Address: 1563 North Portage Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price range (per night): RM4,196 - RM4,281
Hotel Class:3 star — Portage Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Portage Inn Bed & Breakfast (1889), owned by authors Nancy and Sidney Kirkpatrick, sits on a beautiful 5 acre waterfront property on Peninsula Lake in Huntsville Muskoka Ontario. Each room has a large full bathroom of its own en-suite. One room has a view of the lake and another has a large jacuzzi tub. Traditional breakfasts are provided but special diets are available upon request. Also on the property is a chalet that sleeps up to 13 with 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 2 kitchens and 2 living/dining rooms as well as a Muskoka Room, laundry room and 2 decks looking over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portage Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Inn And Cottages
Portage Inn & Cottages Hotel Huntsville
Portage Inn & Cottages Huntsville, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing