We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayside rooms”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed for three nights in the Bayside complex, which is not part of the main building. Our room looked over a beautiful lake throughout the window and Juliette balcony, which was wonrful to wake up to as the sun streamed into the room. The room was very comfortable, with two good queen-sized beds, a small fridge, coffee make (capsules) and plenty of hanging space and drawers for clothes.

There is a construction site next door, but it is silent in the evenings and did not bother us at all. all in all, it was a very plea to stay and we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor with numbers over 313, as they don't overlook the construction site and have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredBritsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello RetiredBritsAbroad, Thank you for the glowing review of Deerhurst Resort. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us in Muskoka, albeit short! We look forward to your return soon.
Regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Very slow service at restaurants. Never a hello from any of the staff when walking through the halls especially from my housekeeper. One bartender on when we are there for a conference where the action is in the Bar. Closing main restaurant for an event and then not staffing the other restaurant (Compass) so that everyone from my conference could eat in a fashionable time. A 4 hour dinner in a bar is not acceptable. Golf Course is amazing, but I didn't find any one helpful, with the exception of Bruce the Starter.

Deerhurst owners should be looking at Management to fix so many issues.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heppy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Heppy1972. We appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts and comments. On behalf of our team, I sincerely apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced, which I assure you is not the level of service Deerhurst Resort is known to provide. Thank you for personally recognizing Bruce, we will ensure he receives a copy of this review.
We hope you will plan a return trip.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Staff were very professional. Food was great although the menu was limited and food service was very slow. The place needs a full renovation especially carpets and paint. Room looked nice but needed new mattresses and bathroom fan didn't work and was filthy inside. Lakeside golf course was full of goose droppings and lacked maintenance.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X8904AUrbw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello X8904AUrbw23. Thank you for posting a review and the compliments on staff and food quality. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations, invest in the property and communication. We hope that you will plan a return trip soon and ask that you contact us directly, so that we can personally speak to you, as our goal is to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This a a top notch resort in every way except food preparation. Most of the dishes have a pre-prepped taste. Other than the food, the resort is great. Rooms are very nice and the staff are friendly - especially the activity and reception staff. Some of the waiting staff in dining areas can be abrupt.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H8262CKboba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear H8262CKboba. Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding your dining experience is important to us and on behalf of our Director of Food & Beverage, I apologize for your dissatisfaction. We would appreciate learning the details of your experience as our goal is to ensure everyone has a positive culinary experience with us.

Jody Cole, our Administration Manager has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in order to gain additional information so we can investigate your concerns further.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Went for my girlfriend's birthday and we all loved it!! We were shocked at the size of our private condo and ran around it like we were kids again. It was very clean, had all the furnishings and kitchenware we needed and was just a perfect home away from home. We roasted marshmallows at the campfire at 6pm and took the shuttle over to the Antler Steakhouse for dinner; huge thanks to Linda our server who was fantastic. The hardest part was leaving but we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Condos in the Golfview. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017


Jennifer A. Sincere appreciation for posting a 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Deerhurst Resort. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have, especially Linda. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments.
We look forward to your return soon!
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
1.0 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
491 reviews
19.2 km away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: RM659 - RM936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing