We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome setting”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The place isn't a five star resort but, for a family get a way it's quite nice and inexpensive (if you stay in a suite with kitchenette and bring your own food). They have a nice indoor pool and play area for kids. In the winter you can cross country ski and in the summer enjoy canoeing and walks in the trails of Algonquin Park.

Room Tip: You might want to have a room facing the hills as opposed to the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Franco S. Sincere appreciation for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to partake in the many on site activities and amenities. Hope to see you again soon.
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Staff was generally friendly, but severe lack of attention to the detail of room cleanliness and maintenance...mold, uncleaned room amenities, food left in the hallway for 2 days left a poor impression and question if we'll return

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for posting a review Stan B. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced and want you to know, what you experienced is not the norm. Jody Cole, our Administration Manager has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in order to gain additional information so we can investigate your concerns further and personally offer an apology.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed at Bayshore units.
Lovely view of the lake.
Heating unit very noisy. Bed was somewhat soft and not that comfortable. Washroom is very small. Building itself is somewhat rundown.
Grounds are quite beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amosadetuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017


amosadetuyi. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts and comments in order to adjust our operations, invest in the property and communication. Should we have another chance to welcome you, please contact us directly so we can facilitate your reservation personally.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

with the construction and noise I can not recommend this resort. We had our room, with nice view, right beside the construction. So by seven in the morning the noise was there and sleeping in out of the question.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Peter G,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the construction noise.

We are very excited about our new Lakeside Lodge resort condominiums as well as our new beachfront pool space - for all of our resort guests - which has been designed as part of Lakeside Lodge. It will really be an incredible focal point of the resort.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the resort services & amenities.

Warm Regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Rooms were outdated and mid-range finishes (eg dated furniture, tub shower not a standing shower with glass, laminate counter tops, fridge is tiny for a bar fridge...). For a “resort” it was under my expectations.
Restaurant staff was unknowdgeable about food ingredients, what was included on the charcuterie board, and completely forgot to bring out our artesian breads (which also turned out to be baguette pieces).
View is stunning, lake is gorgeous, and close to Huntsville shops as well as some nice trails.
Links golf course was beautiful, although not a single drink cart came by during our 18.
So-so overall in my books.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mary R,
Thank you for posting a review. All of your comments are important and will be shared with the appropriate department’s heads at the resort. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes, recognize our colleagues and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
1.0 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
491 reviews
19.2 km away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: RM656 - RM935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing