We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Muskoa”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Very lovely place. A great area to breath in the country air. We were there for a wedding and and everything was done up perfectly. My husband and I are making a plan to go back. We want to be able to take it all in. It was difficult to do so while attending the event.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HavingFunintheSun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hello HavingFunintheSun50. Thank you for posting a glowing review. We agree Muskoka is beautiful and glad you enjoyed our resort.
We look forward to your return.
Best regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Everything from arrival to departure was professional yet comfortable and friendly. Having our dog with us posed no problem here, as everything is clearly explained upon arrival. Very classy establishment!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Julie L. We are pleased to read that the pet friendly accommodation in the main building met your needs. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you and your furry friend back to our resort in the future.
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed in the Bayshore building (not the main building) on the first night and it was a poor experience. Being beside the lake was the only nice thing. When compared to staying in the Main resort building, it was a much lower experience. The hallway carpeting was stained in several places and the whole building looked worn out. There was no keycard access security on the outside doors, especially important when there was no staff in that building.

In the night, there was some kind of animal (mice, squirrel, raccoon) in between the walls, scratching and moving, etc.

Overall, it was not what Deerhurst had promoted.

I was embarrassed to take my wife there, especially when i sold her on the idea of the resort and how wonderful our trip would be.

The next morning, I went to the guest check in and asked to be moved to the main building. What a difference!! There were restaurants and facilities, and staff and beautiful art and surroundings. The staff person was very good about moving us.

I feel that the first night was a bad experience and the second night was much better.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank randolph02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear randolph02. Thank you for the review. I am sorry that the first room you were assigned did not meet your expectations but glad our team was able to provide you with a room move. Thank you for bringing to our attention so we could assist you on site to ensure you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the resort services & amenities in the future.

Warm Regards,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Loved our cozy stay at the Deerhurst resort large 2 bedroom condo. The condo was very large with lake view and fully equipped kitchen. It had the feel and charm of the old cottage. Although not the new build it was quite nice and relaxing even for demanding world traveler such as myself. Thank you for a lovely stay and good service!

Room Tip: Lake view, breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TardissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

TardissPrincess. Thank you for the glowing review and recommendation!
We hope that you will plan a return trip soon!
Sincerely,
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

old and worn buildings, hard beds and pillows, old and worn towels, cheap tiles in bathroom, golf course not well maintained. pool towels falling apart. considering the price, this was very disappointing. they'd have to cut the price to under $200 / night to make this worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikeD9597YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHamiltonGM, General Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear mikeD9597YN. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations, invest in the property and communication. We hope that you will plan a return trip soon and ask that you contact us directly, so that we can personally speak to you, as our goal is to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Jesse Hamilton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
1 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
19.2 km away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: RM651 - RM1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing