We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Revelstoke(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cube Hotel(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Motel(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Acres Bed & Breakfast(Revelstoke)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
95
182
105
48
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
182
105
48
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor gardenchecker boardfamily restauranthalf pricegames roomenchanted forestping pong tablebit datedunique hotelwi fipool tablethe trans canada highwaycanadian rockieslots of parkingroad triproundhousetitanic
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the chateau for one night on our way to Edmonton. Had driven past this place many times in the past and always wanted to stay here. The room we stayed in was quite cozy, and the beds were extremely comfortable. This is a very nice place to stay for overnight, but as there is nothing really to do around the area, you're best to stay in Revelstoke if you wish to stay longer. Take a leisurely walk around the outdoor gardens and along the lakeshore, watch the helicopters take off before your eyes as they tour the glaciers. For sure visit the ghost town! We did this a few years ago and very much worth the trip and money to tour this historic area.
The only downfall is internet connection. They don't have any! Booking.com states there is wireless thoroughout the entire hotel, NOT. The only places you can get wireless is in the lobby, by the chlorinated, humid indoor swimming pool or the cafeteria, if it`s open. Again, NOT! The best view is a room facing the lake, awesome!

Room Tip: ask for room facing the lake!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank km100503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Marketing Manager at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback in your review. We take great pride in offering our guests a comfortable stay with spectacular scenery.
We recently spoke with Booking.com to alter how the internet is displayed on our profile page. It has always been present, yet, unreliable because of the difficulty of obtaining a strong signal in our location.
Exploring the Ghost Town and the grounds are certainly interesting activities to do on-site, but we are also within a scenic twenty minute drive of many surrounding attractions. Enchanted Forest and Skytrek Adventures is only ten minutes east, and Beardale Castle Minatureland another ten minutes beyond that. Between the Enchanted Forest and Beardale there is also Crazy Creek Waterfall and Hot Pools. We are also fifteen minutes west from the historically and culturally thriving town of Revelstoke. Revelstoke is a storybook mountain town that features museums, fine and casual dining, and outdoor adventure in every direction. We can be a great “launch-point” for all of the above activities.
We’re glad you chose to stay with us and we hope you come enjoy another great night by the lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Hard to believe that this family has dedicated so much of their time acquiring the most unique items. The ghost town is definitely worth having a look at. The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the hint of mystery and awe from the grounds is worth spending more then one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCharbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Marketing Manager at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

We’re glad you enjoyed all of our antiques! Our founders, Gordon and Ethel Bell, wanted to preserve history as much as possible. Our family continues this tradition as we are always keeping our eyes open for possible additions to our collections. We hope you choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I was not sure what to expect after reading the other reviews, but my curiosity was peeked and we stayed overnight! Contrary to the other reviews, we found the staff to be very efficient and friendly! In fact, most of them have worked there for years! The facility isn't modern, but it is charming! The privately owned hotel has grown from its original 7 rooms to nearly 200 so the facility rambles a bit but that is a part of its charm. Due to its location cell service and Internet service is sporadic, but available in the lobby and restaurant! The views more than make up for this. Also true there are not a hundred tv stations to choose from but there is the swimming pool, hot tub, games room, pool tables, beautiful grounds, park and beach area! This is truly a family facility that reminded me of vacations we took as kids, the games room even has a piano! If that isn't enough, the ghost town is amazing and affordable! Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and restaurant served good, if basic, food. Our family loved exploring this place and enjoyed our stay. If you cannot stand to be disconnected to technology, maybe this isn't the hotel for you. If you are looking for some history, a facility that is a through back to better times and to reconnect with your loved ones, this is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkers765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Marketing Manager at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review! We’re glad your family enjoyed our facilities and we hope you choose to use us as your escape on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

after reading the views of people. i felt it was nessary to add my voice. Three Valley Gap is a very beautifully set hotel.I am amazed at the work and the dedication of the owners and their caring staff. had the pleasure many years ago to stay in the hotel(travelling with relative from overseas) but was unable to enjoy its wonders and had always wanted to comeback. my Boyfriend surprized me with 3 day stay. we came just at the end of there season when things where quiet. The staff was great and very helpful in telling where the points of interest where. we really enjoyed the pool, hottub, and walking around enjoying the views. i have only one grouch. i could not understand why their food service was so poor. our first meal there was very disappointing. our server seemed more interested in what was going on the the kitchen then serving. There was two waitress for just us and they still got the order wrong and the food was cooked poorly. the teapot was cool. i have never seen one so big:) my boyfreind and i ate there the next day with the same disappointing results and when i asked i was told the cook was on hoildays. we are planning on coming back because we really did enjoy the rest of our stay. i loved this hotel becase of the location, and how relaxing it is. So if really long to be unplugged from the grid and enjoy a amazing incrediable place, the three valley gap will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Marketing Manager at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We’re thrilled that you chose to make us your destination for your 3 day stay.
We’re always trying to improve all areas of our business to better serve our guests. The restaurant has seen a variety of changes the past few years, as we attempt to improve the quality of our food and service. Drastic changes can naturally hinder performance, but we hope that we are taking small steps to improve some of the concerns that you brought to light.
We hope you choose to return for another stay this summer, and give us a second chance to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This category is Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town and yet they are different things and should have separate entries; the first is a hotel and the second an attraction anyone can visit without staying at the hotel, and hotel guests do not get free entry to the attraction. So I’ll do this review in two parts.

Three Valley Lake Chateau

When Mrs Pontac told me she had booked us in Three Valley Lake Chateau I thought it’d be an very posh exclusive resort hotel with a grand gourmet restaurant and when you first glimpse from Highway 1 over the lake it looks superb with its red roofs covered in gables. At places it looks like the gables have gables.

Reception is a huge wooden hall with a beautiful polished wooden staircase curving up to a library.
The hotel is built as an open square facing the lake, there are gardens with rivers, the lake has a sand beach and there are canoes to rent.

The rooms are largish basic motel rooms with all the facilities you’d expect and rooms have balconies or patios and all face the lake. I think the hotel was built in stages over time and its possible hotel rooms may vary depending when they were built. Inside it’s a warren of corridors and staircases. There’s an indoor garden with a walkway above it. There’s a room over the indoor swimming pool with two large pool (the game with cues and balls) tables, and another below the library and I don’t know what else is there if you take the time to explore. The place is huge.

There are two restaurants, a self serve cafeteria and a waitress service restaurant. But grand it ain’t and my concerns about leaving my tuxedo at home were unjustified.

Its basic diner type fare on bare wooden tables, portions are large but I think the quality of the raw materials could be improved. My chicken schnitzel seems like reconstituted meat and the steak was OK but no more. Wine came from a box but there is a wine list which – when found – consisted of one red, one white and one pink, all VQA (hurrah) all from St Hubertus and all specially labelled for the restaurant.

The location is great, we enjoyed sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine in hand looking at the lake.

There is no internet access in the room, you can get a wireless signal in the restaurant and by the front desk. (our room had line of sight to the restaurant and sometimes we got a weak signal by the window)

The hotel is built, owned, operated and maintained by the family of the man who originally bought the land it stands on. A neat fact about the hotel is that they generate their own electricity by means of a hydroelectric unit on a dam downriver.

Although Tripadvisor groups this in the Revelstoke category be aware that the hotel is fifteen minutes drive away along Highway 1 and that there are no alternative no dining places within walking distance. The hotel is closed over winter.

The Ghost Town

The Ghost Town is next to the hotel. Any one can visit and it is well worth while. It consists of around 30 historic buildings saved from destruction and re-erected here, some with original fittings as left when the building ceased its purpose. They range from a rough trappers hut to a ‘wild west’ saloon with bat-wing doors, two schools, a jail and a church still used for weddings and a row of shops.

There is a theatre and a museum of historic items from Indian arrowheads and artefacts through bottles, telegraph insulators, phonographs etc etc

There’s a fascinating display of early motor vehicles that shows how they evolved from a literally horseless carriage to a recognisable car.

There is an enormous circular railway engine shed, ‘the roundhouse’ the family have built to house a collection of steam engines and rolling stock and there’s a loop of railway track they hope to run public rides on when the legal formalities have been cleared.

Ghost Town is privately owned by the family that owns the hotel, there’s no government subsidy. They hate to see historic buildings destroyed so save them here.

We spent hours in Ghost Town and I don’t think we saw everything, indeed I know we missed out on the railway carriages you see at the front. If you’re interested in history of the area, plan your journey so you can spend a while here.

I’d award 5 stars for Ghost Town and 3 stars for the hotel so since they are both in one listing I am giving 4

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thanks for spending the time in writing this extensive review. We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews