We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Mountainview Inn(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chancellor Peak Chalets(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Comfort Bed & Breakfast(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamcatcher Hostel(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Horse Lodge(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
15
35
27
50
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
35
27
50
54
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

For $225 it was not worth it.

Room 214

The plus:

Easy access from highway. Wifi worked well, room was clean. Had new mini fridge with separate freezer component. Water kettle, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV. Mattresses were comfortable.

The bad:

The three queen size beds were on custom made platforms, and although the concept was good, the mattresses kept shifting, and all of us hit the platforms at least once. Bathroom seemed unfinished, lacked hanging rack/hanger. Also, fan fixture in bathroom was uncovered, wiring exposed. The kettle was on the table, but where to plug it in, as there were no AC plugs near the table. AC was old, but worked. Cigarette tray was right outside our window. Back window faces a hill that seems like it's going to swallow the whole building, it is very close. Not enough AC plugs. Towels felt like sandpaper, and not enough, knowing there were 4 of us.

The in-between:

Not a bad stay, but for the price, it should have been much better. If staying in area again, will try another motel, there are several choices nearby.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank hawag z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate all the positive and negative feedback that you provided.
As for the mattresses shifting back and forth we will look into a stabilizer around the perimeter of the area so this problem can be avoided. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. With our entire property going through a remodel, there are a few items that are still being worked on. There will be a towel rack and clothing hook installed on the back of the bathroom door. The fan issue will also be looked into.

The kettle was not plugged in, however there are several plugs throughout the room for guest use. I do understand our AC unit is a older model. At this point I don't see the need to contribute to the landfill when things work perfectly fine. The reason why the cigarette tray was outside the window is because all rooms are non smoking and we do have sections were guests can smoke outside their rooms. As for the hill behind the window, well that one is on mother nature and how she formed the land and the property we sit on. I will see if I can do something about it. In all rooms there are 4 sets of towels, if you needed any extra my staff and I would have been more than happy to provide you with extra towels. I don't know why they felt like sandpaper especially considering they are all newly ordered. For some guests with delicate skin, I understand the feel of cotton can be bothersome. We have ordered new towels that address the needs of guests with this issue. The new towels will be a combination of 3 different materials.

I do hope you reconsider and give us a second chance. Our new Indian Kitchen restaurant will be opening soon and we will be completing the full remodel of all rooms in October.

Once again thanks for your feedback positive and negative. We will work hard to fix all the issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We rate hotel poor to average. Renovation done, but cheaply. If you want to compete in today's field , you will have to do better. Had the water run 10 minutes before water temperature was warm enough for shower. Floor is very cold, beds are strange, sheet of plywood under mattress?

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 963marilynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Its not plywood. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is an older model motel currently undergoing renovation. It was clean and the beds comfortable. There is a small pool which is welcome after a long trip to soak and relax. However because of renovations no breakfast was offered. The room had a Window aircon heater which is old school, but because it, like most other hotels in Golden, is just off the Transcanada highway, helped cover the noise of outside traffic...once you get used to the hum. Wifi was okay to good. The tv was good though limited channel selection. Overall good choice if they don't overcharge...much better than other bargain motels we checked and quite a bit cheaper than newer hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ACHIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are working hard to finish all the upgrades and open the restaurant. I am constantly trying to improve all quality areas of our property and value all feedback from our guests. I hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Pavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

My dad, my sister, and I stayed for one night here. The rooms decor was modern and the beds soft but otherwise the hotel wasn't that nice. It was a overpriced, the heater took forever to start, and the door to the balcony was broken. Honestly if it was twenty dollars cheaper I would have given it 4 stars but at the price it is now I expected better! For a night it was adequate but next time I'm in Golden I'm going to go to another hotel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fire-princess666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback. We are currently in a property wide re-model. We are trying to have all our changes completed and corrected by April 1st. I am value your feedback and hope to have all the issues you mentioned corrected and welcome you back once again.

Thanks
Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews