We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Mountainview Inn(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chancellor Peak Chalets(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Country Comfort Bed & Breakfast(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamcatcher Hostel(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Horse Lodge(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Golden)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
103
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain gondolawindow seatbreakfasts and lunchesindoor saunaa couple of minutes walkwonderful hostsread bookswonderful home away from homehomemade breadother guestsboot drying roomhot tublog firemountain bikingsecond homeamenities includingcommon areas are
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was our first stay at the Vagabond Lodge and can not say enough about this wonderful experiance. The Lodge has an "at home" feel about it, Ken and Lori are gratious hosts who truly want their guests to to have a great experiance. From the breakfasts, sharing of local knowledge, amazingly comfortable beds, and welcoming common areas, it all ranks up there with the best we have experianced. As Arni Says " We'll be back"

Room Tip: The Ladge has 10 guest rooms. Each seems to have it's own unique quality.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussandJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

we stay here when we visit family during the summer. lori and ken make our stay so personable. we enjoy sitting in the evenings in the large sitting room downstairs. ken will often light the fire for us. the breakfast is delicious, always home made muffins, pancakes, jam. our room is big and comfortable and i like to sit on the window seat and read in the sun. we look forward to our stay here every year. sometimes we can catch a couple of the restaurants that are open on the off season on the mountain. being out of town and up on the hill may make it out of the way for some people, however it surely beats anything in town! i am very happy with this b&b lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed with Lori and Ken for a week and very much enjoyed their first rate hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and they were consistently friendly and helpful throughout our visit. Through Ken and Lori we felt we actually really got to know the area in a way not normally possible with just a week's stay. The accommodation was also terrific: bedroom spacious with a lovely view and good sized bathroom. Breakfast (pancakes, fresh fruit, scones, oatmeal, home-made bread and eggs) was substantial and Lori also prepared lunch for us each day (hearty soups and salads, pasta etc). It was great to be able to come in for lunch, take our boots off and relax a bit before heading back out on the mountain. After skiing they would often also provide a snack. Ken took the time to show me around the mountain, which I appreciated very much. The skiing is great with many ungroomed runs, no waits on the lifts, absolutely no crowds (we were there mid-December 2011) and the quality of the snow was superb. Your skiing really comes along. There are a limited number of places to have dinner in the resort itself, but the food is good and service is first rate. It was not a problem for a week. We did not go to Golden to eat, but apparently there are plenty of restaurants there. We had a fabulous week and I would (and will) go again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was a stop on our Road Trip in Canada. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Golden. This was inhanced by the tips of things to see from the owner. A comfortable night and a veryy interesting place to visit.

Room Tip: This is a small Hotel and so I think you would have a good view from most rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way to Kaslo. The lodge is in Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, which is approx 10 minutes drive up the mountains from Golden. The lodge is lovely, it has a warm cozy feel. Lori was very welcoming and really helpful. Our room was lovely, very comfy bed and nice bathroom. Our breakfast was delicious, freshly baked scones, pancakes, scrambled eggs, toast etc. Would definitely stay here again. If you have time, visit Boo the grizzly bear at the refuge, it's only a couple of minutes walk from the lodge to the ski lift, which takes you straight there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews