We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in 108 Mile Ranch
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We usually stay across the ighway at Mile 108 but it was closed for the winter - how wonderful for us! We didn't even know this place existed and were so happily surprised! It's a whole little recreation destination and really gave us something to enjoy on our overnight stay on the way to Vancouver. We checked in and got a great rate ($89.00) and a room that was super comfortable. We retired to the hot tub and pool after checking out the toboggan runs from the view our lodge balcony provided. Next time we'll stay in a chalet and bring the grandkids to ride the horses and take advantage of the ski runs and trails. My husband was amazed by the gym - said it's top notch. The restaurant was good and we happened to arrive on steak and prawn night. Peter, the chef, was working all by himself but he managed to pull off a lovely meal and a good bottle of wine, too! We shall return!

Room Tip: There are chalets here as well as lodge rooms to rent if you so choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Was in 100 Mile House for our grandsons hockey tournament. Booked at Spruce Hills because the team was booked there. We had a lovely room (outdated furniture but a new king bed) which had an updated bathroom. The lodge we were in was very sound proof. Did not hear a thing all night even though some of the team was in the same lodge. Lovely view of the valley. The resort is set in a stunning location. The resort has a brand new pool, work out room. Staff were very nice. The restaurant was in a lovely rustic log building. The menu was pretty limited, but our food was excellent. I would suggest that they add a nightly special (may do that already, but they were serving the one team a pasta dinner which the rest of us could have as well). The prices at the restaurant were very reasonable. The cost of our room was also decent. Would love to come back once you have done all your planned updates. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you enjoy a rustic relaxing place to stay, I would recommend Spruce Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My family and I have been going to "the Hills" for years. We were very disappointed with the stay. The pool and hot tub were closed, there were no amenities, the room was dirty, nothing worked in the room, they had the heat totally off, so it took hours for the cabin to heat up as the fireplace was broken. We went to their turkey buffet for our family thanksgiving dinner and it was not a buffet. $25 a person for turkey, potatoes, stuffing and gravy- and Onion Rings! no vegetables, no cranberry sauce and no decorations. Not so festive. Very disappointing. We waited a long time for them to re-open after the renovations... but our cabin was in dismal array and no evidence of any renos. They are charging the Hills prices, but it is no longer the Hills.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
len_spabc, General Manager at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your recent review.
My Name is Len Doucette and am the new General Manager for Spruce Hill Resort and Spa ( formally The Hills Health and Guest Ranch ) A little bit about myself. I was the operations manager when we were The Hills Health Ranch. I left The Hills 2 years ago to try something new. I am now back as the GM and am working very hard in getting all the renovations completed. The main building completion date should be within the next couple weeks. The pool will be complete and open before Nov 30th. We have started to do major renovations on our rooms and chalets and some of these will be completed in the next couple of weeks with more and more being completed as time goes on. We expect all of them to be completed by early next year. I completely understand your frustration and I assure you once the renovations are complete the resort will be better then it was. I can only hope you will once again give us a try. I will do my personal best to make your next vacation with us will be the best.
Thank you again.
Len Doucette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I went to the Hills for years ago and looked forward to a spa experience. The new Spruce Hill Resort is not a Spa. Here are a few thoughts that may help them improve if they are willing to take advice.
1. If you arrive in the night there is no light at the entrance. Not even a light bulb and so you would pass the sign by so that is needed.
2. People remember this place as a health resort - great low calorie choices. They do not know what that is and need a real chef that understands spa eating.
3. Food Safe for the kitchen. They do not have it or exercise it. I wouldn't trust the food.
4. Available menu for all meals with prices.
5. A functional website with information that is accurate.
6, Ellis from housekeeping as the most knowledgeable person there. She gave us information and helped us find things to do as there were no available services. She had a genuinely caring attitude and made our holiday so much better. You need her on the front desk helping people and welcoming them and organizing spa activities.
7. You cannot advertise services like free guided walks or classes at the gym when they do not exist.
8. No matter how fancy the décor people are expecting services as advertised and spending on services is more important than fancy décor.
9. Attitude is everything. Try to make people fee welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Barb4273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

There was a glitch with our booking (Made through Expedia), and the hotel had no record of it. Fortunately they had a suitable Chalet that met our needs. The front desk staff on check-in had some difficulty knowing what to do, and some issue with English as a second language, but eventually got us settled in. I had stayed here about 20 years ago, and not much has changed. The facilities are dated and could use refurbishment, but were clean and tidy.

We had a great dinner in the Emily Carr Cafe, and hostess/server/bartender Rae took good care of us. Our meals were very good. Unfortunately the bar was understocked and had limited selection, but the great service made up for this. We didn't use any of the other facilities this trip, but would consider returning to do so.

Room Tip: Chalets are great if you want to be self contained and more private. Sleep up to 6 but only 1 bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1075Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near 108 Mile Ranch
12.0 km away
Ramada Limited 100 Mile House
Ramada Limited 100 Mile House
#6 of 8 in 100 Mile House
166 reviews
12.1 km away
Days Inn 100 Mile House
Days Inn 100 Mile House
#3 of 8 in 100 Mile House
8 reviews
1.0 km away
108 Resort
108 Resort
#1 of 2 in 108 Mile Ranch
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Cozy Cubbyhole
Cozy Cubbyhole
#1 of 4 in 100 Mile House
13 reviews
10.6 km away
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
#2 of 8 in 100 Mile House
45 reviews
10.6 km away
100 Mile Motel and RV Park
100 Mile Motel and RV Park
#5 of 8 in 100 Mile House
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Resort & Spa

Address: 4871 Hwy 97, 108 Mile Ranch, British Columbia V0K 2Z0, Canada (Formerly The Hills Health Ranch)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > 108 Mile Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in 108 Mile Ranch
Price Range: RM391 - RM508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Hill Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa (formerly The Hills Health & Guest Ranch) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Spruce Hill Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Health Ranch Hotel 108 Mile Ranch
The Hills Health Hotel
The Hills Health Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing