We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universel
Nearby Hotels
Auberge de la Pointe(Riviere du Loup)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Au Vieux Piloteux(Riviere du Loup)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Boulevard Cartier(Riviere du Loup)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Riviere du Loup)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Loupi(Riviere du Loup)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Amerilys(Riviere du Loup)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup(Riviere du Loup)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$46
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
129
167
66
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
167
66
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew sectionhot tubwater slidesnordic spanewer partbuffet dinnernice hotellittle priceyindoor poolstopping pointgreat poolenjoyed our staycoffee machinethe room was nicei highly recommend this hotelroad tripthe east coast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Staff was not friendly or welcoming from check in. Reserved and stayed night...was charged for two. When I brought this to the hotels attention they refused to reverse the second nights charge. Stay somewhere else. We travel quite a bit and I don’t usually leave reviews as I can deal with most things...but the hotel staffs attitude towards this problems was awful!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank twospicers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you called us regarding this issue to cancel the extra charges. Unfortunately, when our guests reserve their rooms with third party providers, we are unable to modify or cancel the reservations without the approval of these agencies. This is why our hands were ties when you called us in the first place. However, once we had the approval of the third party agency we immediately canceled the fees for your second night. If there are any other issues regarding your stay or the hotel, do not hesitate to let us know. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and are hope that you will give us another opportunity to offer you a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The photos look great,the descriptions awesome and dogs are allowed! However, the hotel is not clean, the welcome lacking in kindness and understanding. The hotel is exceedginly noisy. While a familly hotel that would have laughter and sounds of great happy family interactions, it is alarming that children are running through the hallway and up and down the stairs playing hide and seek and other games as though they were at home or Disneyland. We were aware that it is a family hotel but it turned into a hoodlum hotel.

However, it was great to see so many sports clubs using the faciltiy.

Room Tip: The hotel is NOT work $140+ per night. I would not stay here again.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review and your comments. Your feedback is appreciated. We regret to see that many aspects of your stay were unsatifactory. Please be ensured that we will proceed to a follow-up with our Front-Desk team to raise awareness among our team regarding the imporance of a welcoming arrival. Also, during a future stay, do not hesitate to call the Front Desk for any issues with the room or the noice from the hallways. We hope that we will have another occasion to offer you a better service and a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Great hotel for a couple. The room has a lot of spaces and we had a great view from the windows. Also the people working there were all kind to us. The Spa Nordique is connected to the hotel so we tried it. Incredible experience. Love it!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JM_Labonte14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Propriétaire at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your review and your good comments. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward for seeing you again during your next trip to Riviere-du-Loup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

The hotel is quite nice from the outside with a beautiful modern look. Inside it is another story in most areas; it is like you time travel to the 90's with a very kitsh (i.e., "keitaine" as described locally in Quebec) design in most common areas like the lobby and the hallways, but also to some degree in the rooms. This being said, the rooms are overall clean, with a flat screen TV, and free wifi. The A/C-heat unit is on the wall like in the old days; it makes significant noise, reducing sleep quality.

I went to the family restaurant and the food quality was terrible, I ordered seafood pasta there were cold with a bad taste. There is also another Italian restaurant that appear to be nicer but I haven't tried it.

The pool area appears to be nice but I haven't used it.

Thus overall disappointing, I would not return, I am sure there are better options in town.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Gérant at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We regret to see that your stay was not satoisfactory and hope that you will offer as another opportunity to offer you a better service. During a future stay, do not hesitate to ask a room in the newer part called Excellence section. Rooms in that part were built in 2013, with a modern look and more recent equipments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We snowmobile out of here a few times a year, absolute world class riding! Fantastic location right off of Route 20. Snowmobile garages under lock and key that are heated, truck and trailers park under lock and key so everything is safe. Rooms are super clean and comfortable, two restaurants are nice and the service is good. The spa is first rate! Never a disappointment.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank meboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your good review and comments. We are pleased to see that you enjoy your stays with us and are looking forward for seeing you again during your next trip to Riviere-du-Loup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews