We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
33
64
15
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
64
15
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feather pillows small parking lot free parking small hotel downtown ottawa comfortable hotel small fridge definitely stay here again yogurt per night across the street french wifi clerk casino
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Five minutes to Ottawa, and straight down the street 10 minutes to the Casino. Rooms were very clean and large. Bed was great. Checkin was very quick and easy. Staff very friendly and spoke excellent English, ( as my French is lacking). Parking is free and we had one of the best breakfast in a long time. Eggs, sausage, home fries, juices, yogurt,coffee, cappuccinos, fruit, toast and bagels. Really good

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Let me start with the positives.
Free parking in a very small parking lot behind, close to restaurants and grocery by walk.

Days when you opt out of room service 6$ rebate on your room rate. I have not experienced a hotel offering 6$ direct discount to avoid room service that was a great value to me.

The rooms aren't quiet by any means.Very loud during the day. You can hear the people from the hallway.

The breakfast was nothing great but they had some hot breakfast included. No yogurt.
The property has no restaurant on site and has a tiny little vending machine with only chocolates and chips. The vending machine only accepts loonies and toonies.

What is takes for hotels to replace cups and glasses with disposable? You feel lot safer to drink from the disposable ones. Just a minor suggestion.

For the asking price of 110$ per night plus taxes its too much for the value you get. Go to bigger chain of hotels and take advantage of a pool or much better service.

The water pressure in the shower is a joke - Your experience could go downhill if you start with a bad shower with no good water pressure. I can't think of hotels not thinking about the water pressure.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mickey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes T, Responsable de la réception at Auberge de la Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your comments.
We always do our best to make your stay unforgettable and we are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.
It is the first time I hear someone complaining about noises (we are a sound-proof hotel) and usually people don't hear anything.
Our cups and glasses are cleaned everyday for your comfort.
Our reception desk is open 24 hours for you to tell us directly on site and that we canf fix thing the same day.

Sorry again.

Hope to see you in the future,

Mercedes
Hosting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This small hotel is built of solid concrete with thick walls which means there is almost no noise from other rooms or guests walking in the hallway. Also, the feather pillows are wonderful. The beds are small (doubles, not queens) but there was a small single sofa bed in the room so that made up for it a bit (good for young kids). Breakfast is very basic (toast and cereal mainly) but it is free so I can’t complain. Parking is free as well, and there was never an issue finding a space even if the lot is very small.

The first issue I had was that the fan was a grinding squeaky thing that was unbearable to listen to. Luckily, we were able to turn it off entirely, which is fine in March, but would be an issue in the summer heat.

The second issue is that the hotel is at a red light and very close to the street. All night long, I could hear buses and trucks stopping and starting up which was quite bothersome. Perhaps that is less of an issue for the rooms on the back side, overlooking the parking lot. The odd-numbered rooms on the second floor are by far the worst rooms for street noise so try to avoid those.

Overall, still a good value for the money. Just bring ear plugs!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rivergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes T, Manager at Auberge de la Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your comments.
We always do our best to make your stay unforgettable because your comfort is our priority.

Hope to see you in the future,

Mercedes
Hosting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Spent a week at this hotel while in Gatineau for work. Very competitive room rates. The room was clean and comfortable with good wifi and a good selection of channels, yes lots of french but also more than enough english. My only negatives about the room was that it was very dry, even after turning the heat completely off. Could have definitely used a humidifier. And the blow-drier isn't the best, pretty weak and took a lot longer than usual to dry my hair, but that's just a nit-picky thing.

The breakfast was just OK. I like having eggs for breakfast and they have the kind that are in the shape of a patty and the texture and taste wasn't great. Other than that, they also had breakfast potatoes and sausage as well as breads and bagels, cereals and fruits. Coffee was OK too.
Parking is free and there is a very small parking lot directly behind the hotel which wasn't an issue during the week, but on Friday night when we got back from dinner there was no parking. There is parking available in a nursing home parking lot across the road but you have to be out of that lot by 9am the next morning.
Overall this is a good hotel at a very good value.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ckmilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes T, Manager at Auberge de la Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your comments.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you here and to make your stay unforgettable.

Hope to see you in the future,

Mercedes
Hosting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Comfortable room with modern bath. Fridge came in handy. Wifi was good. Lots of channels on tv - although mostly in French, of course. The check-in clerk was so bubbly and helpful. As with other stays on this trip, we spent the day in our destination (Ottawa in this case) and checked in here when we were done with our day. Grabbed food at a grocery deli and ate in our comfy room. Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zedsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes T, Responsable de la réception at Auberge de la Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your comments. We always do our best to make your stay unforgettable.

Hope to see you in the future,

Mercedes
Hosting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews