We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Indian Thali Platter at the Stiles Motel Restaurant”
Review of Stiles Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stiles Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The choices in Woodstock after the summer season are not expansive. The Stiles Motel is a basic 1950-60s type drive-in motel that is being renovated. I stayed in a renovated room, still basic but for $89.00 in Canada this is what you get. The highlight here was the refreshing Indian couple who own the motel. They offered me a wonderful Indian Thali Platter that is just $18.00, that is the discounted price for motel guests. And warm and interesting conversation. Happy to find something slightly exotic in this corner of New Brunswick. thank you Mr. CJ Padda.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walsh170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here recently on our way to Ontario. The owners are a very nice couple who also run the restaurant at the motel. The motel isn't much to look at at the moment because half of it is under construction. However, the rooms that they do have for rent are reasonable. They are lacking in some amenities, but the room was clean and was OK for one night. The couple serves authentic Indian food in the restaurant and that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Cognitive dissonance is the state of mental stress or discomfort experienced by an individual who holds two or more contradictory beliefs, ideas, or values at the same time....

...on one hand the owner of this place has been criticized for dog smell/hair and he really didn't want to take dogs but on the other hand he really wanted to make a 100.00 for our room for the night....

We call -he tells us he will have to "check with the manager" about the pets and call us back! We are driving in the dark and rain on the Transcanada highway and have no idea where we are but OK call us back....we wait then we finally arrive in Woodstock get cell service again and note he has called so we return the call. He says he has given the room away but if we come over he will see what he can do - notice that he is now the manager so we really appreciate the games we had to play with pretending there was a higher manager and that the room had been rented...not really there were maybe 2 other cars in the parking lot.
It's about midnight, we are dead tired and just want to sleep but first we are subjected to a 1/2 hour discussion of dog hair and whether we have blankets for our dogs..(yes we do - no they won't be on the furniture). This is all fair but then there was discussion of a 25.00 per pet fee as per what the BEST WESTERN charges....no they do not charge that and no you aren't the best western anyway... the fee is a cleaning fee and this guy was insistent that we use our own blankets for the dogs so I am not sure what we were paying for. Anyways I said no way to the 25.00 and he made it it 10.00 per dog which is still ridiculous.

This guy took my DL number, made me pay by credit card and came outside to personally write down the licence plate number of our vehicle. I felt like I was applying for a loan or a job in the secret service.... it was all pretty ludicrous for a cheap hotel room- not to mention the game playing with the reservation in the first place.
If this proprietor wants to run a business he should stop playing games - decide whether you are pet friendly or not and decide what your terms are. No one wants to play games or be lectured about things that have happened to you in the past. People travelling are tired and just want a room (or not).
All this nonsense being dealt with the room was fine - nothing great and zero frills - not even a coffee maker but clean enough and fine.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Overpriced beyond belief, the room was damp and the only reason we took it was that it was 2 A.M., everything else was full and the owner charged us almost double the going rate. Avoid it if you possibly can.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The rooms are super clean and cute, The location to the fairgrounds in Woodstock are super close and my favorite is the hosts. Such kind people. I recommend 100 times over. I will be back for sure. My husband and I both agree. After the long night that way it was and needing a place with the events going on. These wonderful hosts helped us find a safe, cool place to lay our heads at midnight. Wonderful people can not express the fact of how nice they are. and family owned. The Gentleman and his lady own this together and do a fine job of it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jodynorton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stilesmotel, Manager at Stiles Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Jody,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of our property; your comments are very much appreciated and valued. We try to ensure that each and every guest is given the best quality and service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Woodstock!

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
3.3 km away
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Woodstock
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Woodstock NB
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Knights Inn Woodstock
Knights Inn Woodstock
#1 of 1 in Jacksonville
81 reviews
20.6 km away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
215 reviews
13.2 km away
John Gyles Music Room & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stiles Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stiles Motel

Address: 827 Main St, Woodstock, New Brunswick E7M 2E9, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: RM 255 - RM 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stiles Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stiles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing