We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Gyles Music Room & Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
12
16
5
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
16
5
5
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Don't be confused by the sign saying 'Clubhouse.' Just turn in at the corner and walk through the door marked 'Office.' There you will be greeted by the delightfully serene and most friendly Mr. Padda. Sit where you wish: whether the freshly furnished and elegant interior, or the sunny well windowed enclosed porch. Here Mr Padda will explain your personally prepared dining options.

Your meal will most certainly be 'Homestyle' but the 'home' is in India! Pasmati rice, morsels of boneless chicken breast, curry, potato, cauliflower, lentils and a dark pita-like bread made fresh on the spot just for you, warm and lightly buttered. You may enjoy your meal layered on a bed of rice on a warm plate, or presented on a large warm stainless steel compartment tray allowing the diner to blend components as wished with each delicious mouthful.

A delightful surprise and a time to eat slow amid a world of fast food frenzy.
You may even wish to ask for a room and stay awhile.
Cash or credit accepted.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thebrokenrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The choices in Woodstock after the summer season are not expansive. The Stiles Motel is a basic 1950-60s type drive-in motel that is being renovated. I stayed in a renovated room, still basic but for $89.00 in Canada this is what you get. The highlight here was the refreshing Indian couple who own the motel. They offered me a wonderful Indian Thali Platter that is just $18.00, that is the discounted price for motel guests. And warm and interesting conversation. Happy to find something slightly exotic in this corner of New Brunswick. thank you Mr. CJ Padda.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walsh170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here recently on our way to Ontario. The owners are a very nice couple who also run the restaurant at the motel. The motel isn't much to look at at the moment because half of it is under construction. However, the rooms that they do have for rent are reasonable. They are lacking in some amenities, but the room was clean and was OK for one night. The couple serves authentic Indian food in the restaurant and that is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Cognitive dissonance is the state of mental stress or discomfort experienced by an individual who holds two or more contradictory beliefs, ideas, or values at the same time....

...on one hand the owner of this place has been criticized for dog smell/hair and he really didn't want to take dogs but on the other hand he really wanted to make a 100.00 for our room for the night....

We call -he tells us he will have to "check with the manager" about the pets and call us back! We are driving in the dark and rain on the Transcanada highway and have no idea where we are but OK call us back....we wait then we finally arrive in Woodstock get cell service again and note he has called so we return the call. He says he has given the room away but if we come over he will see what he can do - notice that he is now the manager so we really appreciate the games we had to play with pretending there was a higher manager and that the room had been rented...not really there were maybe 2 other cars in the parking lot.
It's about midnight, we are dead tired and just want to sleep but first we are subjected to a 1/2 hour discussion of dog hair and whether we have blankets for our dogs..(yes we do - no they won't be on the furniture). This is all fair but then there was discussion of a 25.00 per pet fee as per what the BEST WESTERN charges....no they do not charge that and no you aren't the best western anyway... the fee is a cleaning fee and this guy was insistent that we use our own blankets for the dogs so I am not sure what we were paying for. Anyways I said no way to the 25.00 and he made it it 10.00 per dog which is still ridiculous.

This guy took my DL number, made me pay by credit card and came outside to personally write down the licence plate number of our vehicle. I felt like I was applying for a loan or a job in the secret service.... it was all pretty ludicrous for a cheap hotel room- not to mention the game playing with the reservation in the first place.
If this proprietor wants to run a business he should stop playing games - decide whether you are pet friendly or not and decide what your terms are. No one wants to play games or be lectured about things that have happened to you in the past. People travelling are tired and just want a room (or not).
All this nonsense being dealt with the room was fine - nothing great and zero frills - not even a coffee maker but clean enough and fine.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Overpriced beyond belief, the room was damp and the only reason we took it was that it was 2 A.M., everything else was full and the owner charged us almost double the going rate. Avoid it if you possibly can.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews