We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
132
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port ellen scones great hosts award winning home made walking distance sheep grazing preserves visit islay fabulous stay wonderful breakfast full scottish sitting room old excise house ron ardbeg distilleries
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We had a wonderful time on our first trip to Islay and the B and B played a big part! Beautifully furnished house -we stayed in the double aspect room with views over the sea and surrounding country side so lovely views to wake up to. The upstairs lounge/dining area used for breakfast also has lovely sea views and this room is great to sit in and relax in or enjoy a takeaway pizza in as we did one evening. We walked into Port Ellen most evenings for dinner - about 25 mins walk and can recommend the Islay Hotel and Seasalt Bistro. Ron cooked the most amazing breakfasts and was a fantastic host with brilliant knowledge of the island. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Thank you for making us so welcome

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rachelhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Everything about our stay was excellent. Ron and Emma are great hosts, and gave us great advice about every aspect of Islay. We would have had a very different experience had we not stayed with them and asked lots of questions!

There was one negative to our stay: it was too short! We'd gladly go back, and when we do, it will certainly be here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick J. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We decided to spend our holiday visiting a few islands in Scotland. Out first stop was Islay. Ron and Emma at the Old Excise house were very welcoming with afternoon tea. The room, the large bathroom with roll top bath were absolutely superb! Breakfast was also wonderfully cooked with a different bread baked every day. Thank you so much for a wonderful time, we shall definitely be back!
Charlotte and Simon

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank charlottemaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

A truly charming place to stay with hosts whose motto is, "What would we want if we were guests," and they really manage the details to perfection. Emma is a great cook--breakfast was something to look forward to daily--and her baking is delicious. Room was comfortable and well-appointed and a great, modern bathroom with big shower. There is a footpath just across from the house that allows guests to walk into the village (Port Ellen) for dinner--about 20 minutes walk--or to three excellent distilleries. Ron knows all the best places to try and a lot about Islay. They are solicitous and helpful but respectful of guests' privacy. Would love to visit again some day--and the view! Amazing

Room Tip: Two lovely rooms; one has a walk-in shower and wonderful view, other a tub and hand-held shower, but somewhat larger. Both beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noni314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

When you visit Islay and you want to be spoiled go to The Old Excise House. Don't be fooled that this is any B&B for it's not. It's luxury served up in the form of crisp, contemporary comfort, wonderfully smooth linens and fluffy towels followed by the most delicious breakfast and home baked breads, puffs and scones, fresh berries and gently poached fruit compotes not forgetting the double gold winning marmalade made with some rather special whisky! Spacious throughout we had The Laphroig room featuring the roll top bath with views over the fields and sea. Ron and Emma were welcoming hosts and really couldn't have done anything more to make our stay special. Knowing how much we wanted to experience one of their Seafood platters, despite it being busy Fiest Ile, they and the local fisherman came up trumps making our last night one to remember. So read all the reviews, believe what they say and book knowing you'll have a very lovely experience.:-)

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews