We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to give a zero rating, but won't let me do it!”
Review of Nugget City

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watson Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nugget City
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This place is the pits......the most expensive place we stayed on our Yukon road trip, and the worst. The accommodation is expensive, the wifi didn't work in Big Bear 3, and the meal was indescribable. We had been informed there was a "world class chef" in the kitchen (which we figured justified the exorbitant cost of the meals). I ordered the char grilled breast of chicken with vegetables and rice. I'm sure if I head to the nearest supermarket, my dinner will be in the tv dinner section of the freezer. The chicken (and I use the term loosely) was swimming in an unidentifiable sauce with obviously overcooked frozen mixed vegetables and some rice. The others ordered ribs which were also pre-cooked and bland.
There also appeared to be some pressure to buy the book written by the owner outlining the history of the site.
Upon reflection we should have driven into Watson Lake and spent the night there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank tatiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped here because we saw the "mechanic on duty" sign and wanted him to have a look at our trailer. We also wanted to get something to eat (I reviewed the restaurant in a separate post) before driving another 7 hours.
After talking to the lady in the gift shop about our trailer (not a camper trailer) she went on her radio to ask the mechanic if he could take a look at it because one of the wheel bearings was getting hot and we just wanted him to grease it if he could. The lady in the gift shop told him exactly what we told her and be said he was really busy and probably wouldn't have time to even check it. The gift shop lady said to ask the male cook in the restaurant about the mechanic because he knows more about what was going on.
After waiting close to 20 minutes for the restaurant staff to come in from their smoke break outside we asked the cook about the mechanic. After explaing wheat was going on, he said the mechanic was too busy and wouldn't have any parts we needed to replace the bearing. After telling him again that we didn't need the bearing replaced, just greased he said we were better off to go to Watson Lake and have someone there look at it or just keep going to Whitehorse. We were told that the mechanic charges $50 just to come out and look at the trailer and then $160/hour to do any work, plus whatever parts were needed (that they didn't have) to replace the bearing, so we would have been looking at paying $400+ to get the work done.
We both understood that the mechanic was busy but it seemed like we were just an annoyance to the cook at the restaurant and he just wanted us to leave.
We will not be stopping there again for anything on any future trips we take that way

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Kaylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped in to eat and it was very good but what made our stop here the best was meeting the lady that started it all in the gift shop. Ended up chatting with here for quite sometime and bought two of her books . What a little find

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neverpassupafreemeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Most campgrounds around here are pretty expensive. Close to $50 a night. Pretty sad for what u get. Sites are spacious and it was very quiet during the night. Lots of big signs directing everyone where to go and what to do. Internet nonexistent except by the office Satellite tv has 8 channels which was ok with us. Gas/diesel very expensive and forget the "Wolf it down " restaurant. It was absolutely the worst meal we have had in 3 months.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 46JimH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The cabin was nice but they nickel and dime you. You have to buy water with a meal and if you share a meal they charge $3.50 for a plate even if you don't ask for one. The cabin is comfortable and clean but I do not like being charged for things that should not be charged for. You pay around $200.00 with taxes and the meals are not cheap. If you want extra coffee in your cabin get one package and are charged $1.50 for another which is not bad but the cook complains about getting another bag as he feels that you only need one bag of coffee. This I do not understand if you want more coffee and will pay for it what is the problem.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank car0lenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nugget City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget City

Address: Mile 627 Alaska Highway, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Watson Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Watson Lake
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Nugget City Watson Lake, Canada - Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing