We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
April Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We've recently returned home from a three night stay at April Point.

I had read some of the negative reviews so was a wee bit wary of our stay- I needn't have worried!

No problems at check in where we got the keys to our room. In my opinion our detached villa- cabin 23- is the best in the resort for couples. So would highly recommend getting that room.

It's located at the furthest point on the resort so is more private. The wraparound deck, complete with hot tub and sun loungers, offers wonderful views of the Inside Passage. Lovely to sit in the hot tub in the evening and watch the cruise ships go by!

The cabin was very clean and the bed super comfy. Bathroom was also very nice and well stocked with toiletries and towels.

The weather was warm and sunny when we were there. However there is no air con but not an issue- yes the cabin was very warm during the day (There is a fan provided) but really how much time do you spend in the room during the day? In late afternoon/early evening we opened the front door and the bedroom door and let the breeze cool the room down.

The resort itself has a beautiful outlook-lots of Adirondack chairs scattered around to enjoy the lovely views.

Breakfasts were included in the rate and were fine. The food in the restaurant was fine-yes I've had better but generally no complaints from us.

I had a spa when there- lovely spa area! Also went on a whale watching trip with Brad as our guide. Our 5 hour trip turned into a 7 hour trip as we stayed to watch a humpback whale breach for over an hour-a wonderful experience!

A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.



Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Perfect location lends itself to everything we expected. Privacy, comfort,scenery etc. Were a noisy group and in 7 visits have never had a single complaint. Our gathering at April Point is an annual family re-union with card games as our primary entertainment along with crazy kids, laughter and bonding. This annual event has carried down over 50 years to now include extended family. It's the annual "priority" event for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J7722CBrandyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Travelled across from Campbell River via the ferry (takes about 15 minutes) onto the Island and found the drive to April Point Resort & Spa straight forward taking about 20 minutes. Arrived at check-in to register and found the receptionist to be what could only be described as condescending and matter of fact, not the welcome we were expecting or hoping for, indeed throughout our stay we sensed that the resort was winding down at the end of their season and they (the staff) we just counting the days until the resort closed! The rooms are rustic and basic by design as is the decor, the bed was small and uncomfortable, basic coffee making facilities, indeed we asked three themes for a kettle to be made available, which finally arrived after 3 hours! Our room had a balcony overlooking the boat deck and small inlet, which was a nice active view. The decking outside the restaurant offers a view across the passage and main shipping lane between April Point and Campbell River, where a sister hotel Painters Lodge is located. There is a water-taxi service that operates between the hotels from early morning throughout the day to late evening at a cost of $5 return per person, although we later discovered that if you had breakfast or a meal at either hotel the water taxi was free...given that we were full paying guest at the hotel we thought that the water taxi should be complimentary! The breakfast buffet is minimalistic, however the lunch and dinner menus are fine for a few days stay. Generally the Waitress service was fine and staff we friendly and courteous, the cleaning staff did a good job, but the hotel management may find investing in customer service training for their front of house staff a good investment from a customer satisfaction point of view!

Room Tip: Ask to view room options before deciding on a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We took the water taxi over from Painter’s Lodge (a small adventure in itself), having found staff there very helpful. Loved our spa room on first floor, looking out towards Vancouver Island, lots of space, separate living room and a large balcony. Took a very good half-day wildlife excursion to see humpbacked whales, seals, sea lions, eagles; travelled in Zodiac and can’t say it was all that comfortable but worth it for what we saw. Our only criticism was that the service for food was rather slow at times and choice of food was somewhat limited for people who don’t eat meat (rather surprising given the location) and there was also an unfortunate mistake in a bar order when a “virgin” cocktail contained alcohol (many apologies given but it shouldn’t have happened). We didn’t see much of Quadra on foot but a walk along the road towards the main town from the hotel was very pleasant. We’d certainly return given the chance (though would hope the food might be improved).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Beautiful location & very happy with our 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom lodge.
The location took our breath away. Also enjoyed the hot tub on the deck.
We also did a grizzly bear tour arranged by the resort & were very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quathiaski Cove
4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
4.3 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
409 reviews
7.3 km away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
3.1 km away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
95 reviews
8.4 km away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April Point Resort & Spa

Address: 900 April Point Rd, Quathiaski Cove, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island > Quathiaski Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quathiaski Cove
Price Range: RM682 - RM941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — April Point Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront getaways, perfect for romantic weekends, family vacations, girlfriend getaways and more. Packages and specials available. Located on Quadra Island, a short ride from Campbell River on Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your April Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
April Point Resort And Spa
April Point Hotel Quathiaski Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing