We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Whiskey Point Resort(Quathiaski Cove)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbourside Inn(Campbell River)
US$71
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Discovery Inn(Campbell River)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Centre Inn(Campbell River)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painter's Lodge(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Tide Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage River Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
205
177
70
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
177
70
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspainters lodgewater taxifishcampbell riverdining roomquadra islanddiscovery passageget awaylovely locationamazing viewsocean viewsea lionswonderful placenew ownersboat ridesister hotelthe pub
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Perfect location lends itself to everything we expected. Privacy, comfort,scenery etc. Were a noisy group and in 7 visits have never had a single complaint. Our gathering at April Point is an annual family re-union with card games as our primary entertainment along with crazy kids, laughter and bonding. This annual event has carried down over 50 years to now include extended family. It's the annual "priority" event for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J7722CBrandyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Travelled across from Campbell River via the ferry (takes about 15 minutes) onto the Island and found the drive to April Point Resort & Spa straight forward taking about 20 minutes. Arrived at check-in to register and found the receptionist to be what could only be described as condescending and matter of fact, not the welcome we were expecting or hoping for, indeed throughout our stay we sensed that the resort was winding down at the end of their season and they (the staff) we just counting the days until the resort closed! The rooms are rustic and basic by design as is the decor, the bed was small and uncomfortable, basic coffee making facilities, indeed we asked three themes for a kettle to be made available, which finally arrived after 3 hours! Our room had a balcony overlooking the boat deck and small inlet, which was a nice active view. The decking outside the restaurant offers a view across the passage and main shipping lane between April Point and Campbell River, where a sister hotel Painters Lodge is located. There is a water-taxi service that operates between the hotels from early morning throughout the day to late evening at a cost of $5 return per person, although we later discovered that if you had breakfast or a meal at either hotel the water taxi was free...given that we were full paying guest at the hotel we thought that the water taxi should be complimentary! The breakfast buffet is minimalistic, however the lunch and dinner menus are fine for a few days stay. Generally the Waitress service was fine and staff we friendly and courteous, the cleaning staff did a good job, but the hotel management may find investing in customer service training for their front of house staff a good investment from a customer satisfaction point of view!

Room Tip: Ask to view room options before deciding on a room!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We took the water taxi over from Painter’s Lodge (a small adventure in itself), having found staff there very helpful. Loved our spa room on first floor, looking out towards Vancouver Island, lots of space, separate living room and a large balcony. Took a very good half-day wildlife excursion to see humpbacked whales, seals, sea lions, eagles; travelled in Zodiac and can’t say it was all that comfortable but worth it for what we saw. Our only criticism was that the service for food was rather slow at times and choice of food was somewhat limited for people who don’t eat meat (rather surprising given the location) and there was also an unfortunate mistake in a bar order when a “virgin” cocktail contained alcohol (many apologies given but it shouldn’t have happened). We didn’t see much of Quadra on foot but a walk along the road towards the main town from the hotel was very pleasant. We’d certainly return given the chance (though would hope the food might be improved).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Beautiful location & very happy with our 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom lodge.
The location took our breath away. Also enjoyed the hot tub on the deck.
We also did a grizzly bear tour arranged by the resort & were very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Water taxi should be free for guests to enjoy both resorts.
Our bed needed a new mattress otherwise the rooms were nice with a beautiful view. Dinner was somewhat of a disappointment as we were celebrating our anniversary & nothing was mentioned even though staff had been informed. Food was good but not excellent. Our waitress was not friendly.
Breakfast was good with friendly & attentive staff. Most of the staff were helpful especially the golf cart driver at Painter's Lodge. Overall I think the resort is overpriced & needs some updating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews