We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, Quiet & Stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pender Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corbett House Country Inn
Reviewed 27 September 2012

As we were not bringing a car to Pender Island, Eve offered to pick us up at the ferry. She was so welcoming. We arrived at the house with time to unpack and have a glass of wine on the porch, before we were asked along to go out for dinner (we paid our own) and a chance to see some of the Island. The following evening after dinner at a great restaurant, we were invited to watch the sunset with their friends.

It was such a relaxing time. So quiet too! We live on a busy street (bus route) in Vancouver, and it's noisy all of the time. I loved the peacefulness and we had the room with our own private deck, so we put our beach blanket out and star-gazed. We saw so many more stars than possible in the city. The king bed was so comfortable, that one morning, we slept in and had breakfast later than they had hoped. They were very understanding, even though they are busy people.

Breakfast was also outstanding everyday (we were there for 3 breakfasts) in a beautiful dining room. Eve is really into photography and art, and is a photographer herself and a member of a group on the Island. While we were there, they were in preparation for an art show in their apple orchard.

John (Eve's husband) and their dog, Lucy, were always outside doing something on the grounds. It was such a relaxing atmosphere we didn't want to leave. We hope to go back sometime. It's such an idyllic setting with very gracious hosts. They are also a short walk away from Café at Hope Bay, which i will also be reviewing. I highly recommend Corbett House to anyone looking for some peaceful R & R and star-filled nights.

Pender Island also has a system call Car Stops. it's basically hitchiking but sometimes from a designated stop. So, if ya want to be adventurous, and not pay a huge ferry bill to put your car on, leave it at home. You get to meet some interesting people, and even their pets. Some people will even go slightly out of their way to put you on a better road to get a ride faster. Great system!

Room Tip: It's quiet no matter which room you have. The extra perks to the room with the king-sized bed, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a perfect 3 days getaway in Pender Island staying at the Corbett Country Inn. We had the king sized bed room which was very cosy and clean.
The hosts Eve and John were very informative and ready to help in many circomstances. For instance, they gave us nice bikes for the whole stay and we indeed loved discovering the island biking, even though it is a bit hilly at times. We also went hiking and even golfing. There is a strong sense of community in Pender island and we really had the feeling of being part of it when staying at Corbett House. Eve's breakfast is really good, you would especially want to taste the homemade omelette and the homemade blueberry scone.
One last hint about the island, don't forget about the south part!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabinemercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I went with my family for my birthday celebration and we occupied two out of the three rooms. We couldn't have asked for more personable, warm and friendly hosts. John and Eve made our stay very comfortable. Eve is an amazing cook so breakfast was a real highlight - homemade muffins, chilled canteloupe soup, pancakes with local blackberries, eggs benedict, fresh peaches from the property. The rooms were brightly lit, beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Each room has its own bathroom but there is only one shower shared amongst the three rooms. Location is central - within walking distance of the Saturday market and of our favourite restaurant, Hope Bay Cafe. A perfect home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vianneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My friend and I go to a different gulf island every summer for a girls getaway. This is definitely the best B & B we have stayed at! The house was quaint, very clean (I'm rather picky about cleanliness) & beautifully decorated. The beds (we stayed in the 2 single bedroom room) were sooo comfortable! So were the pillows! I always bring my own pillow but these were nice and soft. Eve was so nice and helpful. She give us tips of where to visit. Then there was the breakfast which was the best breakfast I've had at a B & B. The omelette was incredible (and I don't normally love omelettes!) Roasted mushrooms inside and farm grown tomatoes! All in all one of the best B & B's around! Thanks Eve for a wonderful girls holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The Corbett House is a quaint, historic farm house situated inland on Pender Island. The Pollards are wonderful hosts and have appointed all the rooms beautifully. From Corbett House you can walk or bike anywhere on the island, but don't miss Hope Bay with it's quaint shops and restaurant. Pender Island is an amazing community; Islanders are warm, friendly, and take care of one another. Spectacular ferry rides and exquisit island vistas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Corbett House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbett House Country Inn

Address: 4309 Corbett Rd. | R.r. 1, British Columbia V0N 2M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pender Island
Price Range: RM287 - RM542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing