We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better 2nd time round”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beaumaris...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Even better 2nd time round”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

As a base, the cottage is ideal for walkers or cyclists. We stayed a couple of nights in the B&B 2 years ago. This time we decided upon the cottage next door for 5 days. A great choice. The cottage is perfect, very comfortable and well appointed with everything you could want.
Pam & Mark are the ideal hosts - always helpful. NOTE - They no longer do B&B, so the cottage is your only option but well worth going for. Bear in mind that the nearest shops are in Ashbourne about 10 miles south.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenRoy...
Royal Windsor
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I would like to thank both Pam and Mark, excellent hosts for our wonderful stay in your beautifully clean, cosy, well-equipped, comfortable, peaceful cottage . Oxdales Cottage is in a perfectly idyllic location in the lovely Peak District to visit the local interesting places, of which there are so many – one week was definitely not enough. The delightful summerhouse was an unexpected bonus – thank you again, we’ll definitely be back. 10/10+

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stop for walking in the area.”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I stopped in the bed and breakfast and was very warmly greeted on arrival. My stay was very comfortable. The bedroom and breakfast were fantastic as was the packed lunch.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Perfect Peak District Base”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Last year we stayed 2 nights in the B&B next to the cottage. It was superb - Pam is a lovely person, very down to earth and always helpful. The B&B room was very comfortable - nicely appointed throughout including the large en-suite. We have booked the cottage for 5 nights next August and I know that it will be great - Pam & Mark are very professional. It's clear from the previous Trip Advisor reviews that we on a winner.

All we need now is some decent August weather - fingers crossed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_luc...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cracking place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We only stayed here for a long weekend, but wish it had been for longer. The owners are two of the friendliest people you're ever likely to meet. We turned up fairly late in the evening, and the cottage was warm and inviting, with some fresh milk from the cows waiting for us in the fridge.

The location is brilliant, only a short drive away from some of the Peak District's great hiking and biking locations, would highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay in a beautiful country setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$51
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing