We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, perfect , perfect!!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Drummerbo...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect, perfect , perfect!!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well what can we say about this beautiful cottage other than what our title suggest. A truly lovely retreat matched only by our wonderful hosts Mike and Wendy. Upon arrival my family and I were warmly greeted by our hosts and shown around the accommodation which is gorgeous, spacious and so tastefully presented. We also had an amazing welcome basket of food and drink which was not only a pleasant surprise but the sheer thought put into it was fantastic. The location of Orchard cottage is perfect and enable us to explore this lovely part of the country we had lovely days out to Bakewell, Matlock, Heights of Abraham and a day to Alton Towers water Park which was only a 10 minute drive. Other days we loved our accommodation and its facilities so much we had a couple of days lazing around Orchard Cottage.

To summarize we have had the perfect family holiday in a perfect cottage with perfect hosts who really could not do enough for my family and I and I feel that when we left we didn't leave behind our hosts, we left behind new friends. We will 100% return next year, in fact, I'm counting down the weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: we had to leave!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Wow, thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely feedback, we are absolutely over the moon that you had a fabulous holiday at Orchard Cottage. Hearing that everything was "perfect" is music to our ears, we are so pleased you feel that way and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners! We certainly hope that time passes quickly for you and you will be back at Orchard Cottage before you know it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannie050...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in. The owners gave it 110% everything you could want from a cottage rental bathrobes slippers shower gel shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. Televisions in lounge and each bedroom. Th welcome pack was amazing never had one as good everything you could want including a bottle of Prosecco very well equipped in the kitchen. The owners couldn't do enough for you we will definitely be booking again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: No negative comments at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we couldn't be happier that you had a wonderful stay at Orchard Cottage. To hear you describe the property as the best you have ever stayed in is music to our ears, the owners have obviously given much time and thought to the place and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to them! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it all over again very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb cottage!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I've just recent stayed at the Orachard cottage for the last week with my husband and 19 year old son. This cottage has utterly fantastic facilitates and was in the perfect location a very short distance from all places of interest to visit (we are keen walkers). The cottage is extremely clean and has everything you need the welcome hamper was a nice suprise, the hot tub for us topped the whole experience off. Looking to return in the near future and would highly recommend this cottage as an amazing place to stay. Just to add the owners of the cottage are lovely people and were very helpful with good local knowledge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday at Orchard Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like you had the best of both worlds, with a great place to call 'home' as well as a wonderful place to explore - and that hot tub, what a perfect way to end your days! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyM2906...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in! EXCELLENT!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with my wife, 2 kids (aged 13 & 11) and my Mother.

We generally try to book a cottage somewhere in the UK for a week around the Easter school holidays and this was easily one of the best we have ever stayed in.

The owners are exceptionally welcoming.

The cottage sits very close to the owners property using the same driveway with parking easily for 2/3 cars). It has a separate utility room with a washing machine and dryer as well as an ample supply of wood and coal for the fire in the evening!

The outside terrace with table and chairs and hot tub is secluded enough to give privacy. The hot tub was such a good experience that we used it every day and has now become a must on our list for next year!

Layout of the cottage is good and it was very clean - with a selection of games, puzzles, books and DVDs.

Our only disappointment was the lack of WIFI (the owner explained this was due to delayed repair works by BT) and Vodafone mobile reception was poor. However these things could not be avoided and did not stop us enjoying the cottage.

We generally tend not to visit the same place twice as we like to visit different areas of the UK but we would definitely consider staying again. If you book this cottage you will definitely not be disappointed!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire and hot tub plus cleanliness
Liked least: Poor WIFI and mobile reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Orchard Cottage. It is wonderful to hear that you found the property to be one of the best you have visited, we will be sure to pass your compliments on to the owner! We are glad that the hot tub was such a brilliant experience that you've added it to your 'must have' list too! We hope that you make another visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisadawnm...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Completely and utterly SUPERB!!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Quite simply put, this is THE best cottage we have ever stayed in. It is beautiful, even better than the photos, and the owners are fantastic. We booked for Christmas 2015 but due to an unexpected illness in the family we didn't actually get there until Boxing Day (4 days late) and to be honest we weren't sure whether to bother making the effort but thank goodness we did as we ended up having a wonderful time, albeit a much shorter holiday than expected! As soon as we arrived we were made really welcome by the owners, the stove was lit and a beautifully decorated Christmas tree had been put up in the living room - we immediately felt at home. The welcome basket was AMAZING - the best we have ever had. The cottage is a really good size and very luxurious with some wonderful personal touches - the hot tub is the icing on the cake. The area is lovely and there is so much to see and do - we can't wait to go back. If you want somewhere to stay with the WOW factor then this is the place - book it now you really won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Orchard Cottage. We couldn't be happier that you were able to get to the property to enjoy at least some of your break, and what a break it was! It sounds like you had a fabulous time, and the owners really pulled out all the stops to make you feel welcome from the moment you got through the door! We certainly hope you return for another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing