We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage for a quiet, relaxing escape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hollington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda K
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage for a quiet, relaxing escape”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the Mews in Hollington. Its was very easy to get to with a sat nav, making the journey there completely pleasant. When we walked into the cottage there was a real "wow" factor as the converted barn has a warm but open feeling as you walk in. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans and general equipment, and there was a jug of milk left for us on entry and some yummy crumpets. We though the lounge area was lovely - a lovely room with seating and dining space for 8 people, although the dining table was in a slightly cramp position. There was a lovely feature fireplace with gas powered fire making the cottage have a very cozy feel. There are enough "real" beds for 6 people, 2 double and 1 twin, but there are also at least 3 temporary beds, leaving plenty of room for plenty of people. The upstairs double bed is a particularly lovely room. The hot tub is excellent - plenty of space for all of us to get in, and quite advance in terms of features with various levels of bubble settings. the hot tub is set on a lovely patio with a table for dining al fresco, and overlooking a lovely back yard filled with sheep and phesants.
A great cottage for a quiet relaxing escape, not suitable for those looking for a bit of a party cottage, as there isn't a town to be seen within a 20min drive. Walking in the surround area is fairly flat, but there are (very muddy when we were there) bridle paths around. The cottage is on the edge of the beautiful peak district so you don't have to go far for a more adventurous and glorious countryside. Perfect for those looking to really relax for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa P
cambs
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So lovely I want to live there!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What a place!! Superbly decorated to really high standard. Everything we needed and more. Very comfortable indeed. The hot tub is such a special advantage of this property compared to others. Was within easy reach for walking in the area.

Would highly recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The finish and furnishings of the property.
Liked least: Tricky one that! Urrr location if anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Weekend Away Ever .... please let me live there!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Me and my 6 friends went to cottage to celebrate my friends 21st birthday and we had the best weekend ever! I can not even start to describe to you all how amazing the cottage was. We hadn’t even left and we were already trying to plan when we would be going back!
Phillippa was absolutely fantastic even before we got there every silly little question she answered and as a super over organised person it put me at ease.
The photos on here don’t even show you have gorgeous the cottage is! We all want to win the lottery and buy it now!! The lounge was great for all of us to congregate at night and chill out! The kitchen was great we cooked for ourselves almost all weekend and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. All of the bedrooms were gorgeous and so comfy and what can I say about that gorgeous bath tub!! It is the most gorgeous cottage with all the bare beams it is absolutely gorgeous!
We even decorated the lounge area and threw a surprise Big Bang Theory Party for the birthday girl and it looked great!
All the animals on the grounds were great we love Neil and Amber the sheep! We love the cat coming to say hello on a morning and the dogs were gorgeous.
We were very lucky to have gorgeous warm weather so we spent all weekend in the gorgeous hot tub drinking lots of champagne! It was the perfect last touch to the cottage and we have all agreed to go back as soon as possible.
We went to The Red Lion pub where we had a gorgeous pub meal and great service! We especially loved the traditional phone box in the village where it was stocked with books that you could borrow!!
Thank you for a great weekend Phillippa and we can’t wait to come back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub we lived in it all weekend!
Liked least: We didnt book for longer!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing welcome - owners went out of their way to make our week special”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We can't rate this beautiful property and our stay highly enough. This cottage had everything we needed and more besides. We stayed with our two young children (7 and 8) and had some friends and their two children stay as a surprise for husband's 40th.
We catered mostly for ourselves as we are keen cooks and found the kitchen was fully stocked with all the kitchenalia we could need. The property was warm, clean, homely - just relaxing, especially with the hot tub.
Phillipa, Julian and their family including the animals (a bonus for our children) were always so welcoming and we knew that if we had had any problems then they would have done everything they could to rectify this during our stay. They immediately felt more like friends of old than simply the property owners.
Given that it is a barn conversion, the upstairs bedroom makes good use of the loft space but in doing so it does have a low bed - husband is 6'2", so long way down for him.
This property is ideal for families or groups of friends looking for a great location and a real treat.
Our children would especially like to thank Max, Flirty and Dave (the dogs), Archie (the cat) and Neil, Lulu and Dusty (the sheep) - apologies to those they have failed to mention.
We are sure that any one else staying at this property will appreciate and respect the thought and effort that has gone into making this a holiday home rather than a holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Children say animals, parents say homeliness
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philpot82
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect-cosy, clean, bubbles, quaint, views, pubs, walks, wine, laughs!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Visited The Mews for a weekend at the beginning of January with 7 of my friends for a cosy leaving do before I leave for Australia in a couple of weeks. We chose this property due to the fact it had a hottub big enough for us all and we were not disappointed!! The pictures do not do it justice - it is such a pretty place - so clean and cosy and big without losing that imtimate feeling. We were very lucky with the weather - it was very mild & dry so we walked to the Red Lion on our first evening there - a very friendly, cosy local pub with proper pub grub at proper pub grub prices! We went for a walk around surrounding areas the next day and stopped at The Yew Tree for a nice refreshing drink on the way back. We took a drive into nearby Ashbourne in the afternoon to replenish alcohol supplies and have some chips and a cream tea :) That evening was spent soley surrounding by bubbles - of the alchol variety in our glasses and in the water surrounding us - the definite highlight of the weekend!!! It was such a luxury and just made our stay that much better. Both mornings we enjoyed breakfast all together sat around the table and the lviing room was lovely and big enough for us all to sit comfortably on an evening. Have already recommended this property and would go again if I wasn't going away!Owner was also called Philippa (very unusual for me to come across another Philippa) and was very friendly & welcoming. We all loved every single second of our stay :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hottub and living room fireplace!
Liked least: The directions given by Sykes Cottages - if you turn left off the A52, take the IMMEDIATE first left which then turns into Main Street. Follow this - goes into national speed limit. Hall Farm on left - take the driveway on the right just after this.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$158
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing