We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
40
93
48
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
93
48
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view room was clean fish jumping bit dated bring earplugs decent quality place to stay next morning catching the ferry overnight stop would definitely stay here again small town arriving late two nights a wonderful stay around midnight bella coola
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Comfortable, good sized, clean room, sitting right next to the bay - I suspect that all rooms have this great view.

The ceilings however, could do with strengthening - the ocupants of the room above us woke us moving around, and the bed was only a large double or a queen - if booking, I recommend you ask for a room on the top floor, and enquire about the size of the beds.

Ideally located for the BC ferry to Prince Rupert (only 7 minutes drive away), there is very little competition, so the prices are high for what has the feel of a motel.

The food in Babe's pub/restaurant was very good though - and certainly tatsted a lot better than the fare looked in the hotel immediately next door, the Quarterdeck Inn, which we investigated before deciding where to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJNBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

good location if you have a car and if you're interested in fishing (very close to the port)
great sea view!!! perfect to observe sea otters and bald eagles activities.
Very quiet place and free wireless.
Far from downtown, airport and ferry port.
Good hotel restaurant/pub, even if quite dirty

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

For whatever reason, my expectations for this hotel in Port Hardy were low, but that was all blown away when we walked in and opened the patio curtains and spent two hours watching bald eagles flying around the hotel. The hotel is perched over the ocean and provides a great place to view birds. On top of that, I felt like the hotel was solidly constructed and overall a nice facility.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulf-to-gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Our stay here was booked by our travel agent as a one night stopover after the ferry from Prince Rupert. We arrived at about 11:00pm straight from the boat. In the dim lights and our tired eyes, the room looked acceptable, nice and big and reasonably well equipped. The following sunny morning gave us a different viewpoint. Although the beds were comfortable most of the fixtures and fittings looked very tired after a lot of use. We thought we would go down for some breakfast. The door into the restaurant should have given us a clue, it was scuffed and badly needed a coat of paint. We did not even sit down in the room as it was very cluttered with what looked like very old furnture and our thoughts were if that is the standard of where we eat, what is the food preparation area like?
The hotel was neatly summed up just as we were leaving. We spotted a coffee flask in the lobby and I suggested getting a cup. A fellow guest told us we would not because it was empty. Rather than offering to fill it, the receptionist's response was on the lines of "hard luck". But when you are the only act in town you can afford that attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were taking the Inside Passage ferry in the morning. The room was $139 +tax and wasn't worth it. I would compare the room to one that you would find at a cheap motel. If it was $60-$80 a night that would be good value. This place isn't worth what they charge! The view was nothing special at all either. Also, the elevator door was broken and took approx. 5 min. to close. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't say anything about that. On a good note, the lady at the front desk was extremley friendly and pleasant. Port Hardy seems like a boring place and it seemed as though the Glen Lyon was the only hotel around...we probably won't go back to Port Hardy in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loochies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews