We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully presented property in tranquil hamlet”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Twin Bedroom
Entrance to hamlet
Sundowner at the poolside
Picnic in the orchard
The Orchard
Daily deliveries of bread and croissants to your door
Saturday market at Saint Jean d'Angely
Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Aulnay, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented property in tranquil hamlet”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here last autumn. The house had everything you could possibly need, and was beautifully presented in a very peaceful location.
Some good restaurants locally, and we really enjoyed the markets in the nearby towns. We were also blessed with good weather. Would definitely recommend and would like to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljpowis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfect, just perfect Well equipped, gorgeous surroundings, private, tranquil, friendly owners..what more could you want?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Roon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly at home!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I stayed here last November as returning guests. We felt perfectly at home as soon as we opened the front door. Lovely warm welcome, with fresh flowers and a basket of eggs.

The gite is well located for sightseeing and exploring Charente Maritime. It's in a lovely peaceful spot which we find very relaxing, and lovely to sit and listen to the birds singing. I have to say that we intended on seeing a little more of the area but we got too comfortable in the courtyard and so didn't venture out as much as last time.

We've rented many houses in France and Le Beau Fief is probably the most well equipped. Thanks for the large supply of logs, we had some very toasty nights sat by that wood burner! What more can we say, a perfect break, and we've just booked again for June with my parents when we're hoping to make use of the lovely pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and toasty nights in by the log burner
Liked least: Nothing - we love this place, it's our second visit and we will be back again!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
Cognac, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some real positives but needed some work and attention”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week at the end of March 2015. The rental was excellent value for money and booking was very easy through Victoria. Directions provided took us straight to the door and the gite is in a nice rural location with excellent walks for our dogs on the doorstep. I must agree with another reviewer that (in March at least) the gite was VERY cold and took nearly the whole week to warm up. The caretaker was kind enough to bring us extra logs when we ran out. Everything that you could need is there but we thought that it could do with a redecorate and some of the kitchen ' bits and pieces' were not up to standard. Also the bathroom was a little disappointing with the shower head not properly secured so that it was hard to get a proper shower. Overall this is a decent gite which was in a convenient location a nice secure garden area for dogs and/or children but in need of some TLC. We would probably go back but only in the Summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secure garden for dogs
Liked least: tired decor and coldness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
We agree that the upstairs bathroom is outdated, and with this in mind we have kept rental prices very low.

We do give careful consideration to all feedback from guests, and as a result we are pleased to say that there will be a brand new bathroom fitted ready for the 2016 season.

Best Regards,

Richard & Tori
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing