We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$52
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
31
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious dinnera special placevillagecountrycommunitywalkinglagunaguatemalacampingsitesbravapast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

It is rural, nothing fancy, but wow! The place is beautiful, clean and well managed. I feel like I had returned to the past. If you are in the area, don't miss this hidden gem of Guatemala.

It is a community project, so staying there is helping the village to grow.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This is a charming rural hotel. Very quiet, very rural, friendly, and good value. Close to the area's fine natural attractions. And if you like camping, their lake-side camping can't be beat in Guatemala (though don't expect much in the way of facilities).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Up and deep in the Guatemalan highlands, Chaculá is a wonderful family or couple experience. If you love outdoors and adventures, this is the place to establish your base of operations. Delicious food, clean bed and hot bath at the end of every exciting day. Nice people in charge. It has an archaeological site, a lagoon, milk cows, waterfall, hiking trails. Starry nights, awsome sunsets and sunrises. Camping is a possibility. Will definitely go back. Charming families experience, great conversations at common table. My only complain: it lacks a proper space to sit and read, or write comfortably.

Room Tip: The main house is best because rooms there have character, and fireplaces, although it can be noisy. Cabins provide more privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

This little posada is truly special - as is the village of Chaculá. I come here once a year for work and it is a treat that I look forward to year round. This is a village of refugee-returnees in the northern corner of Huehuetenango, and is one of the most peaceful wonderful places I've ever been!

The Posada is rustic - no electricity, but this is a blessing in disguise - eating dinner by firelight and hearing the amazing life stories of the villagers who run the inn is a real treat (especially if they bring their guitars and sing!) On a clear night you can see the milky way and if you're lucky, a lightning store across the border in Chiapas Mexico. The Posada also offers excursions to local landmarks, such as Mayan ruins, cenotes (sinkholes), and Laguna Brava.

A special, special place. Come ready to relax and to learn a lesson about resilience and hope.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mtinmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had heard about this finca, owned by former refugees of the Guatemalan civil war, but we did not expect the beautiful surroundings, the exceptional service, and the cultural experience it provided for our whole family. We arrived at a time when there was no electricity (the owners provided us with a solar-panel powered battery so we could have light at night and recharge our cellphones) but this unexpected event allowed us to enjoy an awesome view of the night sky, particularly during a night when we had a lunar eclipse. There was so much to see and do, we never missed technology! It was fun to reconnect with our family while taking walks in the woods, visiting the nearby lagoon and chatting with fellow adventurers over a delicious dinner at the long table in the main house; it was eye-opening learning about the history and culture of the amazing people who not only survived a war but rebuilt their lives as well as this lodge. We particularly recommend spending time with Edgar Diaz and Angel Diaz, who were our hosts and guides, and taught us a lesson about how the human spirit may overcome and thrive great challenges.

Room Tip: We rented the 6-person cabin that is across the garden from the main house, and we were very happy with it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews