We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and easy access to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City of Sails Motel
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The staff were so helpful but had very limited knowledge of even their own suburb and area of accessible conveniences; such as food outlets, medical services and the names of their own surrounding suburbs. In New Zealand a receptionist and staff working with the public should be able to speak English and communicate in English this was not the case. But on a long weekend and a late at night find we had to take it. The room was a studio and had the door entering directly into the public parking and this was not acceptable. Every time we opened our door to go to the car everyone in the large parking area could see directly and with ease into our accommodation. The room had no windows open so the smell of dirty clothes that had cleaned was awful; we had to sleep un safely with the ranch door open to get rid of the dirty smell in the room. This was with us on the ground floor with access from off the street. The bathroom had no window/s and the extractor fan was absolutely blocked with dirt. When you turned it o all it did was blow in the smell of the off the street petrol fumes and street way dust. I can say the bed linen was very clean and of great quality and had been very well presented and made. The kitchen area was clean and out dated but acceptable. THE CARPET WAS FILTHY DIRTY I would imagine coming direct from the oil ridden and dirty garage one had no other option. Really we were so tired on arrival so made no fuss but when I told the manager the next day she seemed shocked. Maybe she thought that this was 5 star quality but for me it was really a great disappointment.We would not recommend the place. Our room had no air conditioner.

Room Tip: No recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorns1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice motel. Staff extremely accommodating.
9/10 for cleanliness.
Fabulous spa bath and good water pressure in shower.
Comfortable queensized bed. Room was a good size also.
Free wifi and almost all Sky channels.
Handy to shops...dairy and best pizza place.
North Shore Hospital across the road. Handy!.
Definitely stay here again.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Clean room with good amenities and spa bath. Close for motorway access. 10 minutes drive to Devonport stops and ferry terminal to Auckland. $155 / night is a bit pricey but that is Auckland today where accomodation costs rival Sydney and Singapore. Wifi was very patchy, tourists expect a very good wifi service these days.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank westoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here on our last night of our NZ trip from Australia.
On checking in staff were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of undercover parking on site.
All rooms are upstairs and there is no lift available.
We had a standard studio with a kitchenette (some only have tea/coffee facilities)
The room was of a good size, nice décor and clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable. Extra pillows were available in the room
A small dining table and chairs was available. There was a reasonable amount of room for cases etc.
The wifi internet worked well when it worked, but it kept constantly dropping out. Reception were informed of this, but they said ‘it’s probably the weather’…..it was sunny with a slight breeze? They have a totally separate wifi system at reception for their office needs so appeared unconcerned.
The bathroom was spacious – the shower worked well with no temperature/pressure changes.
The TV worked well with a good picture.
The kitchenette was well equipped to cook a meal if required – which we did.
Staff were helpful assisting us by printing our boarding passes for the flight the next day.
The room was quiet and we were pleasantly surprised that given it was on a main road there was minimal traffic noise.
The motel is handy to the motorway. There is a shopping mall 5 min drive away, and there is a small takeaway just around the corner.
Would be quite happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigruss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed in this motel 3 times before and on arrival (after a long drive in bad weather) I received a free upgrade from a studio to a lovely one bedroom apartment! I was soooo pleased...lol doesnt take much to please me...
The guy in the office is lovely and the motel is sooooo clean. On a main road but traffic noise is minimal in my view and the handy location is a plus, just off motorway.
I will stay again and would recommend to others! Very competitively priced too...

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
1.4 km away
Anzac Court Motel
Anzac Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Takapuna
131 reviews
1.0 km away
Takapuna Motor Lodge
Takapuna Motor Lodge
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
104 reviews
1.3 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City of Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City of Sails Motel

Address: 219 Shakespeare Road | North Shore, Milford, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Milford
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford
Price Range: RM392 - RM525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City of Sails Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your City of Sails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing