We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
US$60
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$83
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YHA Bristol(Bristol)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Glanville Guest House(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
208
346
177
50
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
346
177
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationtemple meads stationcity centrebeanstravelling by trainbusy roadcar parksecure parkingminute walkmain roadwould stay againdecent hotelbudget hotelbreakfast was includedstayed here for one nightper daycomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Great service from all staff. Clean spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast. Right next to temple meads railway station. Parking as well. Walking distance to shops. Only 20 minutes from airport. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 898lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Efficient staff and a hotel just right for its location. A very good phone manner when booking in advance and helpful receptionists, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and most important quiet. As is normal with hotels the aircon' was a challenge.The breakfast was passable and OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any lifts or service rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pressure52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is perfect if your visiting Bristol with the Holiday Inn standard being met in every way.

Carparking was £12 a night for cars making a tad expensive and this is also limited so if there is no spaces left you would have to go to another local carpark (they do however give you a suggestion on arrival and there is drop off carparking spaces so you don't have to carry bags a long way). However if travelling by train it's a two minute walk from Bristol Temple Meads station which makes it an ideal choice.

We were welcomed on arrival by a friendly male member of staff and this standard continued throughout our visit by all staff members.

Breakfast is similar to all Holiday Inn Express hotels and the food was being topped up regularly even close to the end of service.

Would visit again, the only downsides are the carparking and in the morning (from around 0730) it was a bit noisy outside from work men.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aquacat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit here, the first one being 2012. The same good standards have been maintained with the rooms clean and fresh, a good selection at breakfast and friendly helpful staff. I found the beds very comfortable...mattress not hard but not too soft.

It is right opposite Temple Meads station where a good number of buses stop as well. You can get a daily rover ticket for the buses for £4.

You can walk into the centre within 10 minutes.

Parking is extra and at £12 per day quite an extra expense, but at least there are some reserved spaces for the hotel and the car park is directly behind the hotel. The car park is owned by the council.

Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, GSA at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear MikeB107,
Thank you for your review, Its great to hear our guests feedback when they enjoy their stay so much. I am happy with your comments about our hotel and it brings me great delight to hear you would stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

A very disappointed stay and this dated hotel. Parking was hard to find as signage was poor. I drive past it once and hard to go around the block again and found that it required entrance through a narrow allay way which i would normally enter.

At the back i was greeted with gates with number locks and needed to check in to get an entry code. The staff were friendly and ensured that i was explained everything before going to my room. It had the Holiday Inn standards, but also a connection door, which was ok until the people next door returned. It was so noisy that you are afraid to move.

Breakfast was good and the manager reimbursed my parking for the noisy night. I cant compliant about the service, but the staff don't stand a chance in an old hotel like this.

Room Tip: Horrible location with views on a derelict petrol station and building sites
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, GSA at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Danny B,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and we really appreciate the feedback in order to improve our guest experience. I am also sorry you found the car parking very complicated, the postal code should have directed you to the car park with signs and a waiting bay while checking in to the hotel. It really is disheartening to hear the interconnecting door caused an inconvenience to your stay. However very pleased to see the staff were friendly and offered you complimentary parking during to help rectify this issue. If you ever chose to stay with us again if you could add your preferences to your stay and we will ensure not to place you in a room with a interconnecting door and do our very best to give you a quiet and calm room so you can relax. I really hope I will be able to welcome you back with our refurbishment coming up very shortly I am sure we can change your opinions on the hotel being dated.
Kind regards,
Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews