We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here for two nights for his birthday as we were attending a local music venue.

Directly across the road from Bristol Temple Meads station, it took no time at all to find it. Checking in was done very quickly and efficiently by the friendly duty manager.

The rooms were very clean and smelt fresh. The air con worked perfectly. Shower had pretty poor water pressure but it served.

Breakfast wasn't great with very little options on show, but can understand this is mostly down to the hotel being more aimed at commuters, people wanting a quick grab n' go breakfast.

The bus stop outside the front door was very useful, with a bus taking us directly to Cribbs Causeway in about an hour.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Foxwell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Foxwell23,

thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre. I'm glad to read that you decided to choose us for your 2 night visit to Bristol with your brother and you enjoyed your stay throughout. Our location is very convenient for many guests especially travelling by train as we are only minutes away from the station aswell as local venues like you said. I'm glad our staff were welcoming to you both also. However I am sorry that you were slightly disappointed with the breakfast, but we do appreciate your feedback and can hopefully help us expand in the future.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

Stayed 2 nights on business. Located close to Temple Meads Railway Station and ten minutes walk from the City Centre / Cabot Circus. Hotel comfortable and very much the corporate style of Holiday Inn Express.
Check in good and had a room on the sixth floor. Great views of the city. Reasonable size bedroom, with en-suite. Large walk in shower, but not a particular powerful shower. Bed comfortable. All fixtures and fittings worked and room as clean.
Buffet breakfast is included in the cost of the stay. Choice of juices, cereals, breads etc and some hot items. Quality good, except the juices being very much watered down.
Bar on site, but choice is limited. Serves limited choice of evening meals, but some great restaurants and pubs around Bristol that are worth a visit.
Secure car park on site at £12 per day.
In short, good value for a standard city centre hotel, located close to the centre of Bristol.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard_ATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Richard_ATB,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent business trip.

I am happy to hear that your 2 nights stay with us was good and you made use of our hotel location. I'm glad your check-in process was simple and easy and you enjoyed the bedroom in regards to the comfort and decoration. Your feedback regarding the breakfast is appreciated and I am glad we had enough choices to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I think that the main reason for choosing this particular hotel has to be how incredibly convenient it is for Bristol Temple Meads Railway Station. It is just a totter down a gentle slope away - though that might seem like a steep hill if you're heading up it to the Station in the morning with luggage. It is a very handy place to break a long journey, or if, like us, you need to be at Bristol Airport in the morning.
It is clean and functional, providing all that might be required for an overnight stay. There is a bar, although the choices are not terribly wide of either alcoholic or non alcoholic drinks. There are choices - just not wide choices. You won't be staying here for the beer anyway. You can eat here in the evening, again, a little basic, but hot, decent food, not too extravagantly priced. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay, lots of juices, cereals, breads etc and some hot items. All self service. It is very welcome.
Our stay was good, as it always is here. The only tiny problem was that we didn't get the alarm call that we'd requested, but we were not relying on it anyway.. It is a rather busy and noisy location but that can be fun, watching the hustle and bustle of the city of Bristol. The building is Disabled friendly. There are a few steps from the road level to the Reception area but there is a small lift available to use if you cannot manage steps. There is, of course, an internal lift to all floors.
In short, a good an exceptionally convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Helena M,
thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to see your stay was good and convenient for you. We are very handy for the train station as many guests travel this way and being just down the road makes it very simple to reach the hotel. I'm glad you found hotel to be of cleanliness and comfort and made use of our facilities such as the bar. I do apologize you did not receive your wake up call requested, hopefully this did not cause much of an inconvenience for your day.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night,very big clean room and also massive nice and clean bathroom. Friendly receptionist. So surprised,50 quid per night for both of us,including breakfast and i have nothing to complain about.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Andrej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBristolCity, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Andrej B,
thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to see that your visit with us was good and you enjoyed the room and were pleasantly surprised with the size and comfort. It's great that our staff were friendly and welcoming to you, and I'm also happy that you enjoyed our free breakfast included with the price. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Booked for me for work, possibly a business room. Good average facilities. Bed, pillows, bathroom OK. Decent sleep. Very convenient to Temple Meads and work venue. Didn't fancy the limited evening food facility. Didn't want to use WS or the wine place but it's so close to the excellent Don Giovanni's that there was no problem. Simple light breakfast and OK and some people could take away baps in a box filled from the buffet. Hotel fit for purpose.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Jannerbloke,

I appreciate the kind feedback we receive regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room rate, breakfast and your accommodation. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Should you need anything else while at our hotels to make your stay more comfortable, please feel free to reach out to our Duty Managers for assistance.

We thank you for your visit and we do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you in near future.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
1.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
1.2 km away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#21 of 39 in Bristol
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: RM 279 - RM 733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers free Wi-Fi, an inclusive breakfast and a stylish lounge with all-day dining and a coffee bar. The hotel’s handy location opposite Temple Meads station is perfect for onwards travel to Bath and London. Bristol International Airport is 30 minutes’ drive from the hotel and we’re close to the M4, M5 and M32 motorway, allowing you to explore Bristol and the South West with ease! Our modern rooms boast comfy beds with a choice of pillows to help you customise your sleep. Free Wi-Fi and flatscreen TVs with Freeview keep you entertained in the evenings or relax with a cuppa and an invigorating power shower in the evenings. The stylish open-plan lounge is great for catching up over a coffee, getting some last-minute work completed on the free Wi-Fi or enjoying a bite to eat from the hotel’s all-day dining menu. For superb value weekend breaks in Bristol, our Holiday Inn Express hotel is a great base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing