We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 50 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I can't really recommend this hotel enough — I love Number Thirty Eight. Fantastically comfy beds, gorgeous views (I didn't know Bristol had gorgeous views, but it does from Number Thirty Eight), really delicious breakfasts, and very friendly management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel Writer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

38 lifts B&B's to a new level. The room are spacious with modern decor, great bathrooms, comfortable large beds, large screen TV, Roberts radios, how long have you got I could go on and on, the staff are a delight and great breakfasts. Pricey but you get what you pay for, would I go back? You bet

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the top of the house are the largest but probably the most expensive. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a boutique B&B in Clifton. In a converted town house the views from the rooms are fantastic both front and back. The rooms are plain but light and airy. We had room 7 at the front and did not find the road noise at all troublesome (as mentioned by some). Rooms have flat screen tv with free view, tea and coffee facilities and a stocked mini-bar. WiFi is available and free. There is an IPod dock also.
The double bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Newspapers can be ordered from reception.
Bathroom was very nice with a large old style bath tub an excellent shower and views out over the city. Both bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean and the toiletries were REM
There is a terrace at the back to sit out on summer evenings.
Breakfast was a continental affair with a cooked option - try the garlic mushrooms and poached eggs - heavenly.
Parking was on street and there was ample space
Dinner can be arranged in house I think but with Clifton village a short taxi ride away one is spoilt for choice eatery wise.
Quite pricey though our superior double (room 7) was £160.
Certainly we would stay here again when we return to Bristol.
Photos to follow

Room Tip: Try for the top floor suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a one night stay on our way to Padstow and Mr.Stein now has a tough act to follow! We opted for a suite( room 2) which has a copper bath and fabulous views. We managed to use the bath twice making use of the lovely REN smellies. The room is huge and beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed. A very helpful gentleman helped us with our bags then brought us up a tray of filter coffee. Breakfast can be served in the suites which we recommend as we ate overlooking the park. The cooked breakfast and garlic mushrooms and poached eggs were delicious as was the granola, compote yoghurt and bowl of fresh fruit. We have stayed in lots of hotels and both of us agreed this is a very special place and if you are looking for a room in Bristol this is the place to stay as it's only a short walk from the suspension bridge which is well worth visiting. A good restaurant to go to is the Cowshed a steak lovers paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband booked us in for a surprise anniversary get away.
Parking outside the B & B is pretty scarce but we managed to find on road parking early evening.
We were warmly welcomed and shown into the guest drawing room which is also used as extra breakfast space.
We were allocated to Room 4, which overlooks the downs to the front of the property.
Décor is calm, uncluttered and tasteful.
Bathroom to this particular room held a shower only but was lovely- water pressure quite low. Towels big enough to wrap around you and robes and slippers complete the luxury feel.
Spotlessly clean.
There is road noise but we really enjoyed watching life from our bedroom window in the comfort of our calm surroundings.
Bed huge and extremely comfortable, great white linen and extra blanket if required.
Tea and coffee supplied along with a fridge stocked with nibbles to buy if you got the midnight munchies.
Room pack provided with information and ideas of what to do, WIFI access codes given for each device we used and both were simple to set up.
Iced water served to us while we waited for a taxi was really appreciated- thank you!
Location to Clifton Village is ideal- about 20 minute walk.
Breakfast this morning was outstanding, we ordered full breakfast and smoked salmon and scambled eggs- both fabulous and the fruit compote is addictive!
I feel a bit mean only giving 4 stars but parking was an issue for us and you can hear the movements of other guests throughout the property.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise from fellow guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerefordGunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.6 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,761 reviews
2.3 km away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,264 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: RM695 - RM1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing